Mount Gay XO Cask Strength Limited Edition rum

Mount Gay XO Cask Strength Limited Edition

Barbados | Aged

8.5/10
16 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
9
1

Rate Mount Gay XO Cask Strength Limited Edition

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

16 Mount Gay XO Cask Strength Limited Edition ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

gracey1982 πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 3 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Woody and slightly sweeter than the regular XO but still smooth

Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2925 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Amazing back-to-back rum tasting with Falcon91Wolvrn03 continued with Mount Gay XO Cask Strength. Nice old school bottle and label design. Dark golden color. Very boozy and woody to your nose and palate when neat sipped with very limited amount of depthness. Surprisingly very short ending.

Andy Tee πŸ‡²πŸ‡Ύ | 148 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

N- Authentic good rum that brought smile to face are hard to come by. Nose heating at 63% with rich sweetness of creamy oak, earth, banana yoghurt and liquorice along coastal edge. Deep sweet phenol waving in after breath. Sticky sweet glutinous rice pudding with mango. Complex. (92/23)

P- Succulent, vanilla, banana with limey. Caramelize banana skin sort of sweet tannin and rubbery mouthfeel, tarry rope lurking. (90/22)

F- Long, mouth coating, chewy and firm, full of oak fruits and minty. Traces of desired bitterness developed, with fine strength careless on the tongue overtimes. (92/23)

B/B- 93/23

Weighted Rate- 91pt

Martin Kennedy πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 222 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

I tried this bruiser of a rum at the famous Rum Bar in the beautiful Whitsunday Isles in North Queensland.. wow , what a kick in the face this was..
Im a fan of Mount Gay rums with their "no additives" policy.. love the XO but this is a more skillful blended and complex version.. leave to sit for at least 15 minutes.. lots of oak , bourbon notes , spice , leather and slightly smokey. When you swallow this warms your whole body.. probably not my best idea in tropical north Queensland ! This is a Bang.. in your face rum that I loved , maybe not your average sipper though.. experienced rum drinkers only please.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 516 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I'm not a huge fan of Mount Gay rums, as I find them all too dry for my personal liking. And though this too is relatively dry, it's easily the best of the Mount Gay rums I've tried.

Smells and tastes of oak, bourbon, spice, caramel, vanilla, and almond. I think it's a tad sweeter than the regular XO. The 63%abv works nicely, and I find it easy to drink straight. If you like Mount Gay rums, you'll probably love this.

Marc Cardinal πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ | 399 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

A nice mahogany color with gray green reflections. On the nose are classical notes of banana and chocolate with also coffee. But it seems more complex than the normal XO version. There are also candied fruits, nuts. On the palate, it explodes, the alcohol is well present but very well integrated. The whole is very homogeneous with chocolate always present, candied fruits, pastry notes as usual for Mount Gay. A superb final very long and very complex, it's very rich. A superb realization that finally gives the possibility to the fans of cask strength to find among this brand a product to live up to their expectations.
Real rate = 9,5

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 371 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Great limited edition to the XO line, smoother around the edges not quite as bourbon like. Very solid good rum.

P#wi πŸ‡΅πŸ‡± | 16 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

When I drink this rum I feel like I am drinking something very good in the classic sense. The lack of added sugar gives it a natural sweetness and a very pleasant rich aroma. For me, as in many other reviews, it is a benchmark for other rums. It presents a high level. Any rum that is better than this certainly deserves attention.

Joel πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 5 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I felt the flavour was too subtle - it lacked the punch I'm looking for in a sipping rum. Not as smooth as hoped either.

collinmaillard007 πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ | 34 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

I tried this popular rum. All in all I must say it is sweet but not too much. No great fantasy for me but a good time. A very balanced rum that you easily sip. I just expected a special twist !