Matusalem Platino rum

Matusalem Platino

Dominican Republic | Light

6.1/10
37 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
7
5
13
2
4

Rate Matusalem Platino

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

37 Matusalem Platino ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Brion 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Good for mixing drinks, but I can get Don Q for less $.

mamajuana 🇺🇸 | 148 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

started out straight of course.. a fairly delightful rum I must say. This is closer to the Brugal line of whites produced in the DR but less spice a bit smoother an lighter in the mouth, throat, and less spicy on the tongue.

Very light, yet has a bold rum flavor, very well done rum great for straight up tasting. If you like a white rum that tastes like rum and not over distilled or filtered then this is it. Also one that does not add sugar or additives I might add. Pure rum not bogus stuff in this one!

At this price range it is slightly lower cost than white rums close to it and also much tastier. One of the best white rums at this price point for sipping or mixing.

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Matusalem Platino describes itself as a "dry rum" but it doesn't seem to be so. It does have a crispness normally associated with dry white rums but at the same time has more sweetness than one would expect. It does resemble agricole rum slightly. There seems some vanilla to it along with a nice medium burn to it. It also appears to have a little butteriness to it as well. Now the finish is pretty dry leaving a little tingle on the tongue. Overall a good mixing rum. Definitely recommended for fruit-based cocktails, especially those heavy on citrus.

Mujuru 🇺🇸 | 127 ratings
Posted 1 month ago

Having had the older Matusalem 18 Solera Blender and it being an acceptable to actually pretty decent Cuban style rum, I picked up this bottle to use for Mojitos and perhaps an occasional Daiquiri. First, though I wanted to give it a run straight to see what kind of rum I am mixing with. The reviews I have seen for this in other places have been decently favorable, even if nothing outstanding.

Matusalem, like other Cuban rum exiles, has a long story. Originally it was one of the most famous rum producers in Cuba operating out of Santiago de Cuba. Like many others, the owners fled during the revolution. Unlike some of the others though, it took a while for Matusalem to recover and rebuild. They moved from island to island, and then to Florida, before finally settling and rebuilding out of the Dominican Republic. The one thing I find odd about Matusalem is that they don’t say where the sugarcane for their rum is sourced. Anyway, they now produce a long line of rums supposedly using their original formula and methods from Cuba.

From what I can find this is a molasses based column distilled rum that has been “triple distilled” and then aged using the Solera process for an unknown period of time (some places say an average of 10 years but I find that very difficult to believe). The rum is then apparently “double filtered”, though I can’t find any information about their filtration process. In fact, I am having a hard time locating really any information about this rum beyond vagaries. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, but I would rather like to know about what it is that I am drinking. Ultimately the question is: is it good and will it work for the purpose I got it?

The nose is not especially expressive, and to my senses not especially pleasant. First, I get light pencil shavings followed by a bit of lime and sawdust. Beyond that all I get is alcohol and tinged nostrils.

The palate is unfortunately not much better. It is simply lime and alcohol, with the former being slightly more expressive than the latter (thankfully).

The finish is both lacking and frankly a bit unsettling. It starts with slight Menthol and leaves with a note akin to licking an antiseptic alcohol wipe.

No this will not do. Not only am I unimpressed, I am slightly perturbed. I poured out the rest of the sample (but it is not so bad that I am immediately pouring out the entire bottle). This screams late 90s, early 2000s “jet fuel” Bacardi. However, the are producing this rum, they need to change it. It’s not just uninteresting, it’s outright bad to my tastes (and I feel like I am pretty forgiving). I am not sure what to do with the rest of this bottle. Maybe I can take it to a tailgate and leave it for others to do with what they will. I just don’t think this will work even for Mojitos, which is a basic requirement for white Cuban style rums in my cabinet. I don’t mean to be overly harsh here, but standards have generally been raised across the rum industry and even at its most basic this is just not up to par.

Short Description: A poor man’s Bacardi Superior from circa 2002

ABV 40%

Country of Origin: Dominican Republic

Nose: light Pencil shavings, Lime, Sawdust, Alcohol

Palate: Light lime, Alcohol

Finish: Menthol, Alcohol wipes

jepoycat 🇵🇭 | 31 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Just okay. Nothing special. Typical platino notes.

Josifiend 🇦🇺 | 21 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

This has a kind of floral perfume to it, a light vanilla note and a TOUCH of sweetness - a grassy sugarcane sweetness. It is really rounded. This is the favourite in my bar atm!

Martin Jelen 🇨🇿 | 77 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

One of few white rums I enjoyed drinking straight. Very smooth, very pleasant, very rum-like. Of course there are batter ones, but not for this price.

wlr75 🇺🇸 | 24 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This is a great plata/ white rum. It has a decent flavor on the palate and the nose, albeit a bit of alcohol. You will feel a bit of burn from this, but I've yet to find a white rum that you won't. It mixes seamlessly into cocktails, almost too much so at times. Careful what flavored you pair with it if you want to taste the rum. If you have someone who doesn't like rum, this is the rum for them in a cocktail. Inexpensive at around $12 a bottle. Can't beat this for drink mixing.

james Ford 🇺🇸 | 27 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

The taste of this rum is many steps above the other white rums in the under $20 category. Made in the Dominican Republic closely following an old Cuban recipe passed down through this family for generations.
I recommend this for anyone that wants a good rum to mix with, but I would stay away from drinking this straight.
I've had success with this one in mojitos.

Marty 🇺🇸 | 102 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

In my opinion, this is a good white rum that is better than lower tier rums and brands, but I like many other whites better. Try the 3 year El Dorado. Try the Plantation 3 Star. Spend just a little more and get the Pritchard's Chrystal rum - yes from the US of A!

Scott T 🇺🇸 | 122 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Along with El dorado 3 yr, one of the best I have tried for mixing. Not quite as complex or interesting as Banks 5 Island but much cheaper.