Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10
625 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
11
37
87
187
199
78
20
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

625 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 9 years ago by Trini Yank 🇹🇹 | 41 ratings

Definitely one for fans of scotch. A bite of smoke in the middle makes it a prototypical Dominican rum (and Cuban for that matter). Sweet and smooth around the smoke. Love the bottle too, but for over $30 I was hoping for a bit better. Still, a nice rum that won't disappoint sippers.

Posted 5 years ago by Duckstab 🇨🇿 | 76 ratings

Těžko říci, do jaké míry je v tom nějaký genetický c. k. rakouský archetyp, ale tohle je pro mě naprosto dokonalý námořnický rum. Sladký jako cumel (= tekutý chléb) a neobyčejně dobrý (takovým tím prvoplánovým způsobem, jako švestkové knedlíky s mákem). Na poprvé mi připadala skoro lepší než British Navy Pusser's 54,5%, který jsem doposud za ideální ztělesnění námořnického rumu pokládal.
Druhá láhev mě už ale tolik nenadchla - k správnému požitku je asi třeba mít zrovna c. k. mariňácký rozmar...

Posted 2 months ago by Hefron 🇨🇿 | 114 ratings

Chuťově vyvážený, tak akorát sladký a skvěle kořeněný. Ve vůni špetka lékořice, anýzu a povidel, v chuti jsou výrazné tóny vanilky, květového medu a vařených povidel. Excelentní rum, zachutná každému. Navíc za přijatelnou cenu. 9/10

Posted 2 months ago by m0rsalis 🇨🇿 | 27 ratings

Great rum for a great price. Smooth, sweet and just enough flavor.

Posted 4 months ago by Jara 🇨🇿 | 122 ratings

Skvělý pro fanoušky sladkých rumů.
Vůně: Jednodušší, vanilka, karamel, (v pozadí lehce skořice, směs koření podobná A.H.R.).
Chuť: Dominuje třtinový cukr, pak se objeví lehce dub, bourbon, tabák.
Dochuť: Sladká, krátká, prostší.

Posted 4 months ago by Brody 🇨🇿 | 106 ratings

Dry bourbon flavour and taste.Taste of wood, banana, coconut, honey.

Posted 4 months ago by Weiny 🇨🇿 | 48 ratings

It was one of the first rums I tested and at first I was excited and even bought a second bottle. But I immediately sold it to my brother-in-law, because I tasted other, much better rums and made sure that this rum was no miracle.

Byl to jeden z prvních rumů, které jsem testoval a zpočátku byl i nadšený a dokonce pořídil druhou láhev. Tu jsem ale vzápětí prodal švagrovi, protože jsem ochutnal další, mnohem lepší rumy a ujistil se v tom, že není o co stát. Cena slušná, ale rum tuctový.

Posted 5 months ago by Blindside6 🇷🇴 | 7 ratings

Let me start by saying that if you enjoy sweeter (and I mean quite sweet, liquor-like) drinks, you will surely enjoy this. I don't know why, but I expected something way rougher from something with 'navy' in its name and this caught me way off-guard.

This is light and very sweet both in smell and taste, most noticeable nuance being the caramel, with an OK, not that great, aftertaste. Again, not necessarily a bad thing if this is what you wanted in the first place. For what it is, it's a good drink. Just note that with all that sweetness it will feel pretty artificial and not really like an aged rum.

Posted 5 months ago by dajana 🇧🇾 | 29 ratings

Pleasant warming, balanced honey sweetness, caramel, pepper and vanilla. Rich, complete and smooth. It's more about sweet rums than navy. But it definitely with character.

Posted 5 months ago by Rorschach 🇧🇬 | 32 ratings

Note: I'm a sipper. My opinion is based on sipping characteristics.

One of them rums that rely heavily on caramel, or E150a, as expressed on the label and that is especially evident right away with color being one of the darkest I have ever seen. The interesting part is it feels completely different when had neat or with a dash of water. The neat version hits harder and feels stronger, in the other scenario everything is well rounded and balanced. I'd say it was mostly equally enjoyable but I preferred it neat most of the time.

Posted 10 months ago by Jan Staněk 🇨🇿 | 121 ratings

Little bit too much alcohol, but it is definitely interesting.




Brand Details

Name: Gran Reserva 15-Year
Company: Matusalem
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%
Aged: 15
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2908
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514