Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-year rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

6.3/10
627 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
11
37
87
188
200
78
20
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

627 Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Ronald Broers 🇳🇱 | 17 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Nice introduction to the world of aged rums. Smooth flavour. Don't use for mixing with coke, use the white Matusalem instead...

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 332 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Too weak and thin with too much alcohol taste in my opinion. Works quite well as a mixer, but nothing I can recommend for zipping.
It was one of the first so called zipping Ron that I tasted and it’s more or less a miracle that my zipping rum journey didn’t stop there.

Rocketman 🇺🇸 | 9 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I enjoy the smooth, sweet flavour of Matusalem. It seems to be quite underrated by most, it is not the most aromatic or filled with varying flavours as other rum of the same quality but it packs a nice taste with little bite

Carlos 🇨🇦 | 36 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

This is a good rum. I see lots of bad reviews, but for a 15yr rum this is nice. Drink it straight, mix it. Sip it. It works for everything.

KINK1IN 🇫🇷 | 14 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Matusalem Gran Reserva 15-Year

Notation Personnel : 6/10

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Sugar: 5 gpl. Decent rum most suited as a high end mixer. It could be a sipping rum in a pinch. Caramel, oak, and perhaps a trace of tobacco or almonds in the taste. Smooth with little burn but it has a short finish. The 18 year old is a better pick for sipping but it's too pricey as a mixer. The 15 is a good all purpose rum.

Erik 🇳🇴 | 17 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

I like this rum, but it is a little to sweet. So one drink with this is enough

HunterRomario 🇨🇿 | 329 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Společnost Matusalem & Company byla založena bratry Benjaminem a Eduardem Campovými, kteří opustili Španělsko a usadili se na Kubě za účelem zřízení lihovaru. V roce 1872 založili bratři Campové spolu se svým partnerem Evaristo Alvarezem značku Matusalem v Santiagu de Cuba. Campové využili svých znalostí systému Solera a destilace z výroby španělské brandy. Jméno "Matusalem" je španělská obdoba jména Metuzalém, což byl patriarcha zmiňovaný v bibli, přesněji ve Starém Zákoně, první knize Mojžíšově, který údajně žil 969 let. Jméno bylo vybráno jako odkaz na proces stárnutí a je narážkou na populární španělské rčení "Mas que Matusalem Viejo", což znamená "starší než Metuzalém."
V roce 1912 se Benjamin Camp vrátil do Španělska, takže společnost ponechal v rukou jeho bratra Eduarda. Rodiny Campů a Alvarezů se spojily, když se dcera Evaristy Alvareze provdala za syna Eduarda Campa. Firma se dále rozvíjela a dobré jméno získala ve třicátých letech během prohibice, kdy byla Kuba oblíbenou destinací amerických turistů.
Ve 40. letech už společnost ovládala polovinu produkce rumu na celé Kubě. Rodina však musela po kubánské revoluci v roce 1959 odejít do exilu ve Spojených státech. Kubánská vláda pokračovala ve výrobě rumu ve stejném lihovaru pod názvem Ron Santiago.
Značka pak byla dlouhá léta nevyužita, a to z důvodu svárů mezi jednotlivými větvemi rodiny. Až Dr. Claudio Alvarez Salazar, pravnuk zakladatele, v roce 1995 převzal po mimosoudním vyrovnání správu nad společností. V roce 2002 byla společnost Matusalem and Company obnovena a zařadila se opět mezi výrobce prémiových rumů v Karibiku. Dnes je Matusalem vyráběn v Dominikánské republice osvědčeným systémem Solera.
Zraje v sudech z francouzského dubu.Směs rumů starých až 15 let.
Alkohol: 40 %
Aroma: První dojem po přivonění je podařená rumová vyzrálost, vůně je sametová, můžete rozpoznat melasu, čokoládu, koženou brašnu, dub. (85 b)
Chuť: Na jazyku napřed velmi jemný, po pár vteřinách se rozvine, probouzí se mírná nasládlost, dřevitost a začne hřát a lehce štípat. V dochuti je Matusalem štiplavý až lehce pálivý, suchý, výrazem připomíná spíš koňak. (83 b)
Body: 84
Shrnutí: Testoval jsem nejdřív s Ron Barceló Imperial (soukmenovec z Dominikánské republiky) a pak s Abuelo Añejo (Panama). Skončil uprostřed, na Imperial, který je výraznější, nestačil. Přesto je moje první setkání s "kubánským" rumem podařené. Určitě stojí za vyzkoušení. Mě zaujal více svou vůní, než v chuti, ale tohle je už otázka vkusu, někomu svou jemností bude imponovat víc.

andyist 🇨🇦 | 20 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

The reviews suggested this would be a decent buy, and it was the most unusual rum I have ever tasted, but not in a good way. There is an initial hit of rum taste but it quickly falls away to nothing, a void, as if drinking water, then eventually you're hit with the alcohol air at the end. Sip after sip the same result. It's lost as a mixer too, I ended up simply fortifying other drinks as if it were just alcohol.

Rorschach 🇧🇬 | 32 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Note: I'm a sipper. My opinion is based on sipping characteristics.

This is one of the most hated rums, it would seem, because everyone blabs about how heavily "dosed" it is and them lying about the actual age. I can't say whether either of these accusations is true but I can say I really enjoyed my experience. Yes, apparently there is some sugar involved, whether it's for coloring or taste, so what? It's not like in the Zacapa, that's for sure. And at least in my end of the world, this does not cost anywhere near Zacapa. So in my book, it is a great thing to have neat.

Tad Generic 🇨🇦 | 28 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Purchased in my quest to buy whatever is on sale.

It's certainly flavourful, but it hits pretty hard with what I'd call a tanned leather character - maybe what others call tobacco (I'm not a smoker).

I'll get through the bottle, but am not certain I'd want to buy this again.

I had to go back and revise my rating from an overly generous 6 down to a 1 (only because there is no 0). Every time I look at this bottle I try to convince myself that it's worth finishing as opposed to pouring out. Sucking on an old boot might possibly be more pleasing to the palate than this one is. I'd rather sip Screech or anything else in the range of mass produced swill if this is what a 15 year rum is supposed to be like...




Brand Details

Name: Gran Reserva 15-Year
Company: Matusalem
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%
Aged: 15

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading