Habitation Velier 2010 Hampden LROK 6-Year rum

Habitation Velier 2010 Hampden LROK 6-Year

Italy | Overproof | 67.0% ABV

8.1/10
26 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
2
9
10
2

Rate Habitation Velier 2010 Hampden LROK 6-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

26 Habitation Velier 2010 Hampden LROK 6-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Durbs 🇬🇧 | 17 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Strong, distinct nose - almost petrol like, and carries a heft punch too at 67%.

You can add a dash of water to create a smoother, but still very pungent classic Jamaican sipper, or just keep as is and treat with respect.

The strength of flavour also makes it a winner in cocktails as it never gets lost - Corn 'n Oil is particular is amazing.

Certainly not for everyone, but if you like Appletons or Smith & Cross, this is worth seeking out.

MaartenVL 🇧🇪 | 33 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Heavy rum for the more experienced rumlover. Taste of benzine, leather and dark chocolat. With almost 70 degrees its one of the havier rums in the world. Enjoy and drink with caution.

Marc Cardinal 🇧🇪 | 399 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Beautiful golden color going towards bronze. On the nose, this rum delivers notes of exotic fruits like ananas, the ripe banana typical of Jamaica. It is very floral, vegetal, very elegant. I also detect Sarawak pepper. On the palate, it is very floral, always on the exotic fruits going towards the spices. The final is on the banana. Very beautiful Hampden. But my favorite is the HLCF

Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 537 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

barva žlutonahnědlá
- vůně jemná, nádherná, spousta hutnějšího ovoce, koření
- chuť více nasládlá, voltáž 67% se hlásí, exotické ovoce, pepř
Strašná dobrota, pecka 👏👏

Polis 🇨🇿 | 14 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

This HV absolutely fits for purpose from my point of view, Comparable with GH but stronger on the tongue, it makes me blowed up from my pants 😎

Smovens 🇺🇸 | 103 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

This is pure fruit and burnt rubber. Missing the rest of the complexity of hampden blends, but still pretty delicious. Wouldn't buy for the price though.

RumGuy1 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Funky hobo flavor for days, citrus fruit, grassy, very Unique

vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Today I have a 6y old LROK in the glas. I already tasted LFCH, HGML, C<>H, <>H and some DOKs.
I'm curious what LROK can offer.

The nose is strong with a bite. I get the pineapples from the high ester smell first. The nose is fruity and also sour. A typical Hampden nose. After some time in the glas the apples are rising.
Around the fruits is also some solvent, some oak and grasy notes with fresh bananas.

The taste starts with pineapple and glue, then I get a bitter note from tannins. It's like a typical high ester Hampden. Then the taste turns very sour, acid is rising on the palet with some solvent.
In the middle the taste became more saturated, I get honey, again the acid with solvent, then papaya and apples.
The finish starts with spice and pineapple, not I get hints of white oak and some grasy notes. Not much malt in the aftertaste, because the esters are more present.
The aftertaste is with pineapples, apples and malt. Thats tasty.

Overall a good high ester Hampden. I would prefer more malt in the taste and less acid. Therefore 87 points.

Nose: acid, apples ***, pineapple**, white oak, some glue or solvent, banana**, grasy note, papaya*
Taste: pineapple, glue, some tannins, acid, acid, acid, solvent
Middle: honey, acid, solvent, papaya, apples
Finish: spice, pineapple, white oak, grasy note
Aftertaste: pineapple, apple, some malt

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 4.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 4/5
Value (110€): 3.5/5
Experience level: expert

András Péter Balogh 🇭🇺 | 41 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

The first sip burns a bit but it smoothens in the end.
Oak, molasses spice, cinamon, smoke, funk, floral, exotic fruits, dark berries, wood, sugarcane... Almost everything I like in a rum! :)

Alaska Joe 🇺🇸 | 41 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This is a serious expression of what Jamaican rum is all about. Sweet, not so smooth, with a double Hongo kick to your saggy ass. To me, It’s a bit much,all alone in your mouth.... but I’ve made some incredible drinks using this as a backbone. Strong funk, long legs and a aftertaste that carries on. Unique for sure.

laurent 🇫🇷 | 60 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

At 67° it is maybe not intended to be sipped straigh... with some drops of water it reveals all the usual Hampden flavours = ananas, olive, dry wood, earth... Not as extreme and maybe not as excellent as the HLCF of the same bottlings but still very good. If you like this style only.