Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva Rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

7.4/10
63 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
26
24
4
2

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

63 Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

frohikey πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 7 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Nice one for sipping especially on rocks. It's not perfect but I appreciate it is an overall nice experience - not lacking in any of the rum aspects. And it kinda grows on me so I may rank it even higher later.

Earl Elliott πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 213 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Sugar: 8 gpl. I had my doubts but they went away once this was in the glass. A very nice aroma of butterscotch, vanilla, and a hint of coconut and raisins. Oak is in the background aroma as well as the taste. Very smooth with a nice finish. Not harsh at all but just the right amount of heat. Nice sipping rum. I wouldn't mix this as I don't like too sweet a drink, but if you wanted to it would be a great drink.

Remy Chevalier πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 34 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Someone handed me a nip of this one the other day, thinking it was going to be something quite special. I wasn't thrown back by it, just a good standard rum.

Rhum Man πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 8 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I tasted this Matusalem and found it to be a textbook example of Cuban ron. I was very impressed with both the nose and lack of alcohol burn. The absence of alcohol burn was achieved without being sweet. Although not able to at the time, I imagine the Matusalem would go well with a Cuban cigar.

CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 80 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Aye, as sippin' rums go, this one be fairly decent. She not be a true 18 year-old tho. Trust the Captain on that [wink] She smells sweet with vanilla, caramel, oak, peppery spices, and just a hint of tobacco. As taste goes, she be a bit drier, not as sweet. The vanilla is still on board, but not so much for the caramel. There be a slight earthy bitterness about her, along with the peppery spices, oak, and a wee bit of tobacco from before. Still, she be fairly smooth and tasty with very little burn goin' down the hatch. Not terribly sweet, not terribly complex, not terribly honest about her age, but she still be a decent rum! arrrgh!

Beukeboom πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 304 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Poured a little of this in my snifter and immediately noted a nice subtle vanilla scent. Very nice legs indicative by the rum clinging to the sides of the snifter after a good swirl. The color is a rich amber. The flavor supports the vanilla aroma and also has a pepperiness to it and a noticeable oakiness which I presume come from the barrels in which it is aged. It does have some sweetness to it that seems to be natural and not sugared (but that's just my opinion). Definitely a nice sipping rum which also could be effective as a mixer. This is a good, all-purpose rum but I think it is better suited for sipping.

Tom πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 228 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Love this rum just as much as the other in the Matsulem line. Smooth, refreshing, crisp, complex falcons for the nose and palate. Not a bad price considering what your buying...a high class rum from the DR.
Please drink this neat or add an ice cube to evoke other flavors.
I have to try the 23 next.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 516 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Very similar to the Matusalem 15. Smells and tastes of oak, caramel, spice, with a touch of honey. The biggest difference is that the aftertaste isn't as harsh. Has a touch of sweetness, but still a bit on the dry side for my liking.

Mario Kc πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 14 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

A decent, flavorful rum that is not overpowering. I taste caramel with notes of vanilla, very mild peppery and just the right amount of oak. I also taste coconut and there's very little burn at the end (which I like)

This is a perfect Friday night rum where you plan on sipping on a few glasses while relaxing. Not overpowering, yet every sip leaves you wanting something more (I don't know what).

Tone84 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 11 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

This is one of my got-to versatile rums. It is great as a sipping rum and I feel guilty mixing it.

Rhoffer97 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 58 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Light nose with hints of vanilla, smooth flavor with spices, no light after taste




Brand Details

Name: Gran Reserva 18-Year
Company: Matusalem
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 18

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading