Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged | 40% ABV

Matusalem Gran Reserva Rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

7.5/10
70 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
0
0
0
2
5
30
26
5
2

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

70 Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

frohikey ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 7 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Nice one for sipping especially on rocks. It's not perfect but I appreciate it is an overall nice experience - not lacking in any of the rum aspects. And it kinda grows on me so I may rank it even higher later.

Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 621 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Lovely as nice in flavour . .. dry but deep in decent flavour .. Nice flavour for the price

Aaron ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 69 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Much like the 15-year, this rum is remarkably smooth with very deep oakey flavors. A rich, fruity aroma welcomes the first tastes. Strangely tasteful ethanol finish.

wlr75 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 24 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Since I have enjoyed the 15yr expression for years, I have kept a look out for the 18yr. I was lucky enough to find it in a store for $21 today. Almost half of what I typically pay for the 15yr!
The nose is very similar to that of the 15yr, vanilla, molasses and caramel. I'll warn you, let this rest for a bit before nosing or sipping as it has a bit of astringency that wears off in about 5 minutes. After that it opens up. The palate has some of the same flavors and a hint of orange and chocolate. I do pick up more wood tannins in this version than the younger expression. Although that is not a deterrent. Long thin legs coat the glass edges, and a slight oil coats the mouth. The finish is shorter and not as intense with this either. Not bad for this price, I wouldn't pay a premium price for it past that of the 15yr.

Per Rosenhave ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 158 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Woho! - I was so lucky to find thise rum on a webshop, and they also want to ship to me. So right infront of me now, i got this lovely bottle :) - Just love to find some rare bottles now and then in my region :)

Rumnoobie ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 3 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

At this point, my definition of what a rum should be!

DrNovelo ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฝ | 27 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Ron con un sabor delicado que perdura al combinarse, su sabor se queda por un tiempo, muy rico y muy recomendado.

Car ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฝ | 20 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Un ron premium de los mejores de Panamรก puede tomarse solo

Chet ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 199 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Well a bit disappointed to be on the level. The nose is OK but it just drifts of and shortly became a Rum N Coke Rum. Be it on the higher end of middle of the road rums it is bearable and worth the time spent consuming it. But Don't expect a "slap my face and call me Sally" type of drink..

Jรถrgen ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 33 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Very nice sipping rum. After dinner is a good experience. Recommended

Scott ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 38 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

I like the 15 and this one even more..i wonder if it tastes the same as it did years ago..very smooth.. goes with everything.. will always have bottle in my collection




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Matusalem
Country: Dominican Republic
ABV: 40%
Name: Gran Reserva 18-Year
Years Aged: 18
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No
1. Total Wine
Loading...