Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged | 40% ABV

Matusalem Gran Reserva Rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

7.5/10
70 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
0
0
0
2
5
30
26
5
2

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

70 Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

frohikey 🇨🇿 | 7 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Nice one for sipping especially on rocks. It's not perfect but I appreciate it is an overall nice experience - not lacking in any of the rum aspects. And it kinda grows on me so I may rank it even higher later.

Leo K 🇨🇦 | 71 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Nothing particularly wrong with this rum for a Dominican style. Not to sweet or thick, but the flavor was lacking to me relative to others. You may find different and I would recommend giving it a try if you like Dominican rums.

Don 🇨🇦 | 166 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Vanilla and dried fruit on the nose. Some age but also a bite from the young rum of the Solera process. Able to be sipped with a little sweetness, but not smooth enough to be in my sipping list.

Engwild 🇺🇸 | 153 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

An almost Cuban, I drink this and feel like Ricky waiting for Lucy to mess up again.

Titomm 🇨🇦 | 86 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

I agree with Falcon91Wolvrn03 and quote him:

"similar to the Matusalem 15. Smells and tastes of oak, caramel, spice, with a touch of honey. The biggest difference is that the aftertaste isn't as harsh. Has a touch of sweetness, but still a bit on the dry side"

I would add that it is a bit more complex and has more "layers", overall better !

The price is a little higher. I wondr (hand have not been able to decide) if the difference in price is completely justified, but it should not prevent you from trying it.

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 473 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I have been a fan of it's younger 15 year solera for about 20 years. I finally saw this older brother on the shelf today for only one dollar more. It is indeed the better buy. The aroma and taste are quite rich and sweet with minimal added sugar. A nice addition to my collection.

Backwatertech 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Nice and sweet. Decent amount of afterburn but overall good sipper

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 295 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I enjoyed the Ron Metusalem 15 but the 18 is so much better. This is definitely going to be a keeper in my cabinet.

Regan 🇨🇦 | 83 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Beautiful light bodied Cuban style rum , solera aged
Nice nose and good mouth feel
Just a touch above the 15
Well worth the money and a good sipper

Davejohn 🇨🇦 | 31 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

The initial nose is pleasant, the colour is a nice dark amber, very good legs and a very good mouth feel.
Subdued tastes of vanilla and raisins from a very smooth rum which is quite simply a treat to the palette.

Alexandre Rousselle 🇨🇦 | 29 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Goût boisé, caramel, épice et un peu sucré. Bon rhum de style cubain.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Matusalem
Country: Dominican Republic
ABV: 40%
Name: Gran Reserva 18-Year
Years Aged: 18
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No
1. Total Wine
Loading...