Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged | 40% ABV

Matusalem Gran Reserva Rum is produced using a combination of rums aged on average 15 years and distilled from molasses using the solera process.

The Matusalem company was established in 1872 originally in Santiago de Cuba. The company fled the country following the Cuban Revolution in 1959 and the Gran Reserva rum is now produced in the Dominican Republic.

7.5/10
70 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
0
0
0
2
5
30
26
5
2

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

70 Matusalem Gran Reserva 18-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

frohikey πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 7 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Nice one for sipping especially on rocks. It's not perfect but I appreciate it is an overall nice experience - not lacking in any of the rum aspects. And it kinda grows on me so I may rank it even higher later.

Bog Monster πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 42 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Average but enjoyable rum.

It joins the ever growing list of 7s. Nothing more...

jru πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 114 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

There are some different flavors, hard to pin down .. burnt sugar, some spice maybe . A little of vanilla or cocoa. Sort of sharp, oaky
I like sipping this one. But also mixing it.

sketcher1255 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 22 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

15 year Matusalem was a favorite of mine which I preferred to the 18. Then the quality of the 15 dropped off the table a few years back. Still serviceable under $25.

Rumrun11 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 125 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

The 18 beats the 15 for sure. Nice aroma mainly vanilla but not over powering. Semi sweet and dry with vanilla, oak a bit of caramel and a hint of whiskey in the aftertaste. This is a fine rum but nothing standing out that makes me think, wow! It is a solid 7.

Kevin πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 80 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I really like the caracter of this rum. The notes seem to dance and linger all over my palate. It's a pleasure that is hard to find in rum with the same price range. This one's a keeper! They may have aced the amount of added sugar. It's perfect in my opinion, for rum that needs this kind of help! Not too overwhelming.

Mario Kc πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 14 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

A decent, flavorful rum that is not overpowering. I taste caramel with notes of vanilla, very mild peppery and just the right amount of oak. I also taste coconut and there's very little burn at the end (which I like)

This is a perfect Friday night rum where you plan on sipping on a few glasses while relaxing. Not overpowering, yet every sip leaves you wanting something more (I don't know what).

Tone84 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 11 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This is one of my got-to versatile rums. It is great as a sipping rum and I feel guilty mixing it.

Rhoffer97 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 70 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Light nose with hints of vanilla, smooth flavor with spices, no light after taste

Elbert Bakker πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 19 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Smooth and gentle, sweet and powerful, for all occasions

Herman πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 104 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Was given as a present to me. I did smell the vanilla and slight caramel on the nose. Tasted somewhat light to me, with a clean finish and not much burn. Not too complex but overall a nice sipping rum.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Matusalem
Country: Dominican Republic
ABV: 40%
Name: Gran Reserva 18-Year
Years Aged: 18
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No
1. Total Wine
Loading...