Penny Blue XO Batch 002 rum

Penny Blue XO Batch 002

Mauritius | Aged

5.4/10
9 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
1
2
2
1

Rate Penny Blue XO Batch 002

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image

9 Penny Blue XO Batch 002 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

BigChief17 (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 53 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

The nose is inviting... Orange Peel, Caramel, More Citrus

The instant it hits your palate it tastes great, but then fades before you can get the word out.

Too much burn, oak takes over and molasses rounds it out. All with a mouthfeel that is thin... super thin.

At least I learned about Mauritian and the rare blue stamp in the interim.

Dave D 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This is a quality presentation and product all around. I hated to even remove the nice wax seal to begin with. The bottle, the label, the color of the rum, the story, the location and the production all make for a first rate package deal. Immediately on opening it had a great smell. It really didn’t need much airing out time. It’s bottled at 43.2% alcohol. Nice little bite with a light, perhaps “fruity” note from the cognac casks, but rounded out with the bourbon and whiskey casks. Not too much oak. It’s non chill filtered, which maintains flavor. It really has everything going for it. I would never mix this or even add water. I love this! Apparently impressions are personal and different for everyone but this is fantastic for me. No added sugar to mask a faulty, cheap product. No added color, you can tell on both points. There were only 4 bottles left in my area. Now there are 3. There may soon be 2.
Just thought I’d add that the oldest rum in this blend is 11 years old. This would account for the less oaky flavor than Kirk & Sweeney 23. After my K&S 23 settled down a bit, it seems to be all that’s left is the oak. Not that that’s bad, but that’s why I was going to try K&S 18 next. Maybe a more subtle oak. I just happened to get this Penny Blue #2 first. I’ll still try the 18, but I really love this!

Underdog 🇺🇸 | 20 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

I had high Hope's for this one, but was left wanting something more. Light in color and body. Alcoholic burnt carmel on the nose. Upon tasting, slight burn that fades quickly then transitions to brown sugar, light oak, light orange zest then disappears. You are left waiting for something else, but nothing else comes. It wants to be whiskey, bourbon and rum. Neither wins.

CSG 🇺🇸 | 39 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Had Batch 002. I found it absolutely overwhelmingly flavored by the barrels and citrus peel, specifically undesirable grapefruit, masking the supposed glory of this rum, its natural sweetness. I could still taste that undertone, but there was so much dominance by the barrels and peel that it led to a lack of complexity. This didn’t taste like rum and was not even close to worth its price tag. There was enough to make me want to try other batches but certainly not to pay for them.

Moberg 🇩🇪 | 11 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Taste is different. Flavoured tastily, but as well harsh and burning. Not my cup of tea, end up in a long drink....sorry for that!

Kieron wood 🇬🇧 | 577 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

This rum is meant to be a single estate rum so I imagine that the flavour profile to be different from the usual manufactured company's ... Sadly I was disappointed

5xo (PREMIUM) 🇸🇰 | 294 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Expected very dry stuff, but is was more to my taste with the molasses flavor playing bigger part.

Snookerman (TASTING CLUB) 🇬🇧 | 166 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

I didn't much care for this. It has some decent qualities and I think some people would like it, but it tasted a bit whisky-like to me and also maybe a bit like cognac. I would drink it but it would never be a rum that I'd buy, though I'd imagine that some would love it.

Tom Rhoads 🇺🇸 | 88 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

First sip went down my windpipe LOL.
High proof rum with great color and flavor. Similar to batch #1 but I think I like this one just a bit more.




Brand Details

Name: XO Batch 002
Company: Penny Blue
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading