Foursquare 2007 Criterion 10-Year rum

Foursquare 2007 Criterion 10-Year

Barbados | Aged | 56.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

8.7/10
26 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
6
13
4

Rate Foursquare 2007 Criterion 10-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

26 Foursquare 2007 Criterion 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rob ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ช | 92 ratings

Can't believe I'm the first to review this truly exceptional rum as it's been out for over a week now.
When poured in a small, narrow tasting glass this rum really stands out and shows it's complexity.
When poured in a tumbler and more air has contact with it, then it's more similar to the 2004 release.
Will need a couple of more sessions with this beauty to detect all the layers.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Neville Midwood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 11 ratings

Some reviews suggested I should be able to detect Crunchie Bars changing into Portuguese Custard Tarts. Initially I assumed my palate needed educating to enjoy this as it was an early purchase in my Rum drinking life. After a month I still dont detect any characteristics that either a Crunchie or Custard Tart would suggest.
Just burning spicyness and little else. I enjoy other cask strength rum and bourbon, and on paper I should like this. So it's just me and Criterion dont get on.

Revisiting my bottle after a few more months and lots more rums and bourbons and - still dont get on.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Daniel ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช | 1 rating

I hope i can buy some bottles more in a few months..

Posted 7 months ago by pgrace (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 41 ratings

Another winner from Foursquare. Taste like a combination of milk chocolate and caramel. Melts in your mouth.

A bit of deep oak toffee and dark walnut flavors

Posted almost 5 years ago by Alex ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 2 ratings

Foursquare Criterion 10 year old rum. A combination of pot and column still distillation, then matured in ex-bourbon and Madeira casks.
Well actually my understanding is that it spent 3 years in ex-bourbon before being re racked in Madeira casks for the remaining 7 years.
It's bottled at 56%, no added colouring and no chill filtration.
Bottled in April 2017 with only 2000 bottles.
What's not to like...

The nose is a wonderfully rich with notes of cigar leaf, freshly tanned leather, lots of dark stone fruit and sticky toffee pudding.

The palate continues on from the nose with stewed fruits, gently caramelised demerara, red apple skins more cigar leaf, cinnamon, all spice toffee apple and dark chocolate.
The finish is long with everything very slowly simmering on till it eventually fades with nougat, baked banana and apricot..

It's majestically constructed. The balance between casks with the vanillas, spices and tobacco from the ex-bourbon to the bold assertive but never dominating dark fruits of the Madeira casks work so well together that the interplay is seamless.
A real masterpiece, and a coup for TWE to be the sole distributor.

Id give this 92 out of 100

Posted 5 months ago by Potomeanus ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ด | 7 ratings

I have the honour to taste a 30ml sample ! It was one of the best rum I drink! I give a 9 because is very expensive and rare ! It worth 10 ! It is the base of a good Rum , the classic of old school rum !

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 362 ratings

I can see why Criterion put Foursquare solidly on the map. Exceptional aged full body dark brown rum lingering on the pallet for a full 5 minutes. Found on auction site makes collection complete.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2912 ratings

Spectacular rum tasting with Falcon91Wolvrn03 continued with a rare Foursquare Criterion. Decent bottle and label design. Bright golden color. Sweeter and woodier than Destino. Plenty of woodiness and a dry burn at the end. Criterion is aged only 10y in Bourbon and Madeira Casks.

Posted 2 years ago by Alaska Joe ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 41 ratings

This is a masterpiece.After finishing a nice glass of Empery I decided to pour myself a bit of the Criterion before bed ...... good decision, wow,! Its smooth oaky majestic self just blew me away. Faint flavors of Carmel and smoky chocolate....So damned good! Not sweet but not dry. But, this isnโ€™t Mamas Milk either, 56 % of mouth watering goodness! To bad itโ€™s almost impossible to find, but if you do..... Grab it with two hands, take it home and consider yourself lucky!

Posted over 2 years ago by JeffBuck ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 80 ratings

If I would have rated this rum when i had it when it first came out, it would be a 10/10. I think though that it was very much ahead of it's time even in the ECS world and doesnt compare well to something like 2007. I would put Criterion just below 2005.




Brand Details

Name: 2007 Criterion 10-Year
Company: Foursquare
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 56.0%
Aged: 10
Distilled: 2007
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Articles

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2912
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
546
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514