Malibu Coconut rum

Malibu Coconut

Canada | Flavored | 21.0% ABV

Malibu Coconut Rum is distilled from fermented molasses and blended with coconut and sugar. The brand is owned by one of the world's largest spirits producers, Pernod Ricard.

Currently produced in Canada, Malibu Coconut rum was originally made in Curaçao from fruit spirits flavored with coconut and rum. The original recipe was developed as a shortcut for bartenders making Piña Coladas, however today the stands on its own.

4.2/10
507 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
32
46
78
129
125
48
27
9
7
6

Rate Malibu Coconut

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

507 Malibu Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Joseph Blossman 🇺🇸 | 40 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I don't consider this a "rum" it pours out like a syrup and tastes like on aswell. Clear in color, and you can see the air bubbles traped inside the liquid is you pour it in a clear glass. This tastes like one thing and one thing only coconut.
However, this rum holds a special place in my secret arsenal of mix drinks and I suggest you give this recipe a try.
A Caribbean Dark 'n Stormy Three Way!
1 & 1/2 shot (75ml) Malibu Coconut Rum
3 shots (150ml) Cruzan gold
1 Splash (about 200ml) of Tropicana Lime-aid
Served over Ice.

That's about all I will do with this rum. It's a cheap syrup, and personally think it is a more of a liquor.

Kocour 🇨🇿 | 6 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Simply rofl. It smells just like old Ford Fiesta...

I3R0K3N7FEET 🇬🇧 | 72 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Mix with fresh pineapple juice and you get a tasty drink, use in any cocktail, you will get a tasty drink. Sweet, consumable, but has no real rum influence outside of a cocktail night. On the positive side, it is cheap and readily available and I do have a penchant for the premixed cans with sparkling pineapple juice.

I am sure there are better quality coconut rums out there, but this one will serve its purpose.

Ethan Allen 🇺🇸 | 9 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

A decent coconut rum that you should break out for a party, save the good stuff for yourself.

Vince11881 🇺🇸 | 29 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

If you are at rum ratings trying to get a brilliant review on delicious rums and Malibu is your choice, please tell me so I can cancel my account right now.

Nicholas Miller 🇺🇸 | 75 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

There are much better coconut rums out there. First thing its like 42 proof so its almost all water and sugar so I cant consider it a true rum, more like a liqueur. With that in mind you cant expect much as far as quality. Opening it you get a sugary coconut smell with no hints of alcohol. Drinking it is much the same you get a very distinct extract of coconut taste with a side of a large portion of sugar cane and thats about it. I prefer other coconut rums that dont use coconut extract because its just not anywhere near comparable to a natural coconut flavor. Which is why this rum loses points because it is beat out by a large amount of competitors.
Notes
-Not a liquor more a liqueur (low proof 42)
-Smells of coconut and sugar (no alcohol)
-Tastes like coconut EXTRACT and sugar cane
-There are better rums for the price that use a natural coconut and at higher proof
-Very fact manufactured taste

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

The chemical aftertaste is pretty offensive. Why on earth would anyone drink this stuff when they can buy hand sanitizer more cheaply (and it's probably more tasty than this poo).

Ransom9 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I absolutely love this rum. Fantastic in a piña colada.

Immiketoo (PREMIUM) 🇬🇷 | 60 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Eh, it’s technically rum, but without the rest of the cocktail it’s cloyingly sweet and undrinkable unless you’re 15 and trying to impress your latest high school crush because you stole it from your parents liquor cabinet.

Cheap and effective.

Nicoakr 🇫🇷 | 106 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Cocococonut well don't know why I'm even rating this one

Alan 🇺🇸 | 89 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Anyone who mistakes Malibu for a proper rum knows little about rum. It's basically an artificially flavored sugar syrup with a little rum added.