Monymusk Special Reserve rum

Monymusk Special Reserve

Jamaica | Aged

7.5/10
8 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
1

Rate Monymusk Special Reserve

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

8 Monymusk Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 355 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

This is a rum that has been on my shelf for a while and now it was time to check it out.
It’s a blend from the Clarendon distillery’s pot still and column still, which is the reason that I call it half funk.
The nose is nice after hand warmed. On the palate you recognize vanilla, raisin and some esters. During the afterburn, which is middle long, you can also recognize a quite distinctive taste of coconut.
As a summary a real nice Jamaican rum.
Pictures: My Jamaican shelf & My opened bottle.

DB 🇺🇸 | 33 ratings
Posted 1 month ago

Just enough funk to let you know it is Jamaican, not at all overpowering. More alcohol on the nose than I expected, but that disappears on the palate. Decently smooth, medium body, medium finish. Light spice and fruit tones, and lighter molasses than I expected, a pleasant wood note. Well-balanced, with nothing being dominant.

Skipper Joe 🇺🇸 | 27 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Similar in character to the Monymusk classic gold, but notably smoother, and richer. More oak in the taste, but a respectable lunch of that signature ripe banana funk. A modest upgrade that adds a little extra character to mixed drinks, and slightly more pleasurable than the gold when sipped on its own. That said, I wouldn’t pay too much extra for it, but a bargain at even a small discount.

Mike Pooch 🇺🇸 | 39 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

I have to say this immediately reminded me of the long extinct Dagger rum, not exactly but just a resemblance, It also reminds me of Appleton Reserve but less banana, more molasses and nutty, really nutty and oaky, but at 40% it’s smooth, but that’s bothers me a bit, most good aged rums are 42-45%. I feel it’s a nice addition to my Jamaican rum cabinet, my personal favorite of all the rums besides Demerara of course! I am looking forward to making a rum punch with this-lime sugar and bitters:) overall I give it an 9 because I love Jamaican rums so deal with it lol.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2994 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Enjoyed 2 glasses of Monymusk Special Reserve while in London. It has a nice and deep color, quite a strong alcohol smell to nose very similar to the cheaper Appleton's, and then you get the familiar Jamaican glue and funk to your taste buds. Just awful. Struggles for a 5 score.

Carl 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Tasted side by side with Royal Jamaican and Appleton Rare with four others. This was the clear winner.

Canadian Captain 🇨🇦 | 68 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Right off, a strong smell of alcohol in the glass. Slightly oaky, a little harsh finish. But let it breathe for a few minutes, and give it a small dash of water. It opens up nicely. I have a slight cold (slightly stuffed up), so no flavors to report until I can taste it better. But after tasting 7-8 Jamaican rums at the airport on our way home, this was the preferred one to buy.

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 126 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I didn't go into Monymusk with very high hopes, but it was actually really nice. Dark and woodsy, molasses and black licourish. Little bite for a Jamaican rum and some spice. Good supper for sure I'd suggest having a taste.