Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year rum

Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year

Jamaica | Aged | 45.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

9.1/10
55 ratings
Truly a fantastic choice
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
7
23
22

Rate Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

55 Appleton Estate Joy 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

pocasi ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 21 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Za me lepsi volba nez Appleton 30, neni tolik drevity. Pro mne prijemna chut. 9/10

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 326 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Itโ€™s much alike the 21-year old, but much smoother even though itโ€™s 90 proof. Another difference is the taste of ginger and spices. Unfortunately itโ€™s becoming harder and harder to find, so if you get the opportunity to buy one do so if you can afford it.
Picture: My top five shelf, My opened bottle & My Jamaican shelf.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 516 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

I had this side by side with the Appleton 30 year. Both are exceptional Appleton rums. But to me this was even better than the 30 year.

Smells and tastes of oak, almond, butterscotch, nutmeg, orange peel, and vanilla. This has just a bit more almond and orange flavor and a bit less oak than the 30 year, which is why I think I like this a little more.

If you like the Appleton rums, I'm guessing you'll love this one. I'm not a huge fan of the Appleton style, as I find them a bit too dry for my liking, which is why I only rated this an 8. Still the best Appleton I've had, and if you're a fan of their style, I'm sure you'll love it!

Earl Elliott ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 213 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Sugar: estimated at 14 gpl. Itโ€™s doubtful that I will get a chance to taste the 30 or 50 year old Vintages which is why I give this 10 rating. The standard Appleton taste profile of oak, smoke, and vanilla is present but this rum has a honey and orange taste that smooths and balances the rum. Itโ€™s a masterpiece of rum blending and is a must have for Appleton rum lovers.

Paul Unwin ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 14 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Quite an expensive bottle of rum and thats a reason I didn't rate it any higher, its very nice but there are lots better for a fraction of the price.

Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2925 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Enjoyed a glass of Appleton Estate Joy Anniversary 25y Blend while vacationing in Brussels. Lighter side of a semi dark color. Very nice and unique bottle design compared to the typical boring Appleton Estate bottles. Very strong alcohol to the smell test. Slightly smoother than your average Appleton Estate but still more or less the same basic stuff in a fancier bottle. Hard to imagine how it has this much burn for a 25y old rum. Afterburn is strong and long.

Wayne Upton ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 136 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

UPDATE:
I forgot I tried this (telling), and gave it another go. Smooth and light, but BITTER. Oak and smoke, but nothing interested. In fact, it reminded me of burnt rice.

My original review is below.
---------------
Tried it side-by-side with Appleton Reserve Blend as a current base/standard for Appleton, and also the Appleton Estate Very Rare Limited Edition 30 Year, what I thought would be its nearest peer (I don't have the 21 on hand).

By far this 25yo is the most mellow. In a watered down sort of way, not an elegant way. Has the least flavor, seems the least Jamaican of the three. Oak on the nose, disappointment on the tongue. I can find the W&N funk in the Blend, and the aged richness in the 30, but nothing to write home about with the 25.

It's good rum, but I just can't justify past a 7. Maybe I got a bottle that was off? That would be a shame.

Danzilla78 ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 23 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

This is labeled a twenty five year old rum, but is a blend with thirty and thirty five year old rums in it also, they labeled it twenty five as that's the youngest rum in it. This is the tastiest rum I've tried, it has great legs, taste and one of my favourite features, the slow smooth finish that tastes of honey. As I sip from my glass, I savour it with the thought that I wish I could afford to drink this delicious rum everyday!

Michael Huff ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 100 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

I'll fill out this review more soon. I'll second Tom by saying this is the best rum I've tried. The first few sips are layered but gentle. What really stands out in my memory is the honey aftertaste. The aftertaste was like I'd just washed down a literal spoonful of honey. Absolutely incredible.

Tom Rhoads ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 88 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

I bought one bottle when it first was available and just got a 2nd today as a birthday gift for myself. The packaging is very nice and the bottle is special and feels great in my hands.

Wonderful aroma, slight vanilla and citrus at first and a little oak. Very long legs in the glass.

Not sweet at all and not thick in the mouth. Just the perfect mouth feel.

The finish is pleasant with what I will say is a dunder component to it. I say dunder because that is how this was described to me when I tried the Mezan XO. That rum has overpowering dunder but is very mellow and pleasant. It actually lingers and keeps reminding me to try some more.

locorican68 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 27 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

I looked for this bottle for about a year and it was worth it. I opened to celebrate a birthday with a friend of mine and the flavors and smoothness of this rum where second to none. The oak, vanilla, tobacco and leather notes were a little more intense, but smoother compared to AE 21, which is a favorite of mine. Iโ€™m trying to get another one, but these are more rare now days and the price could make it infeasible.