Lamb's Navy rum

Lamb's Navy

Canada | Dark

Lamb’s Navy Rum is a blend of Caribbean rums that are aged four years in whiskey and bourbon barrels.

The original Lamb's Navy rum recipe, created by Alfred Lamb, blended 18 different rums sourced from Jamaica, Trinidad, Barbados and Guyana. Lamb began blending the rums in England in 1859 and references the British Royal Navy in its name.

4.9/10
140 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
13
33
46
28
10
3
3

Rate Lamb's Navy

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

140 Lamb's Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Threepwood 🇬🇧 | 87 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

A classic rum, very easy to pick up in any off license, pretty cheap, and a taste that matches. Not terrible, just very simple dark rum, only good when mixed with plenty of coke.

John Fladd 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I lived overseas for a couple of years in my youth and Lamb's and tonic was always a solid, dependable choice.

Devan 🇳🇿 | 10 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

This is my first Lambs Rum and as expected for the $40NZD price, I knew this was going to be a simple, non complex rum with obvious flavours.
I was attracted to the bottle which caught my eye due to the St George cross emblazoned across the label. A darkened rum is enclosed and matches my wooden furniture nicely. Having tasted cheaper rums in the past I'm immediately thinking burnt treacle, black strap molasses, cautiously hot on the palate, maybe some oak, maybe some mild spice. In the glass swirls a clingy liquid which presents medium to thin legs. Molasses and caramel are on the nose once the glass is allowed to settle. It is obvious and dominates. Black strap molasses carries through to tasting, caramel notes are present as is a spiciness. I'm trying to find the oak, but it's not obvious. I want to try with ice and coke thinking this will carry nicely with the cola as I get some nuttiness in the flavor profile also.
This rum says hello and goodbye just as quick as it arrives. A warmness carries through to the stomach but nothing left in my mouth worth acknowledging.
Overall, a solid mixing rum. However will not be purchasing again, as it just does not stand out as a contender for my attention.

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 410 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Maybe when I was a teenager I could drink this, but not my cup of tea. I take Pussers navel rum plantation over dark and even Myers Jamaican dark over this. I understand it has a good following maybe as a mixer but not in my bar.

NavyGrenadine 🇬🇧 | 15 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Very common in bars so if you can’t get something more exciting for as a mixer with coke this will do

WEDGEYBOY1 🇬🇧 | 23 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

One of the first rums I ever had but it didn't offer what I was looking for. Was bought a bottle as a gift and it's better than I remember but just very rummy rum with nothing jumping out at all. Probably works great with coke but I don't do mixers.

Roaming Space Cat 🇨🇦 | 10 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Hints of chocolate, specifically chocolate cake/brownie, currants, notes of fresh cut grass
Angle food cake/birthday cake flavor, vanilla, slightly oaky, goes down smooth

Louis M 🇺🇸 | 24 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Lamb’s Genuine Dark Navy Rum is pleasant but not overwhelming. It has a slight bite but finishes sweet .It is a Classic Navy style rum good for both sipping and mixing with your favorite cola .The price is affordable. The label is awesome displaying the Royal Navy ensign. If you have a collection of rums then this must be a part of it.

Longman80 🇬🇧 | 53 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Much prefer spiced I don’t really like just plain dark rums

Barterfamily0407 🇨🇦 | 9 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

In university the 151 version of this rum was all I drank. Mostly because at 151 proof it was the best deal in the liquor store. But I learned to ready enjoy it




Brand Details

Name: Navy
Company: Lamb's
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading