Emperor Sherry Casks Finish 5-12 Years rum

Emperor Sherry Casks Finish 5-12 Years

Mauritius | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

6.4/10
34 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
6
8
10
1

Rate Emperor Sherry Casks Finish 5-12 Years

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

34 Emperor Sherry Casks Finish 5-12 Years ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Simson 🇨🇿 | 79 ratings

It is a blend of rums from Mauritius with a maturation period of up to 12 years (first barrels of bourbon and then of sherry wine). Special ratio: 60% molasses rum and 40% is agricole from juice, so I was mainly curious about the agricole ingredient.

The bottle has a classic chubby shape - I like that. The color of the rum is rather lighter (light amber) with a slight reddish tinge.
The scent is not very intense, but it is very pleasant. The scent smells of vanilla, sherry, overripe tropical fruits, cherries, cloves and also a little stale wood and agricole grass.
For the first time, I felt intense unsweetened Czech rum pralines in the taste. The taste is weaker in spirits, generally thinner and also slightly sweet. On the palate you can smell the most sherry, vanilla, cloves, stale wood and again overripe to fermented fruit (grapes and cherries). The ending is slightly bitter, but it's not unpleasant.

The smell of this rum is more pleasant than the taste, but the longer I drank it, the more I enjoyed it. It's probably not for the whole bottle, but it's definitely worth tasting.

Overall rating: 7.5 out of 10

Posted over 6 years ago by Pedro 🇩🇪 | 4 ratings

Selección de Maestros surely is no rhum for everyday. But which Cuban Rhum is it? Due to limitations of innovation and technical improvement over past decades the rhum is characterized by the typical dry taste of Cuban rhums.

This edition of Havanna Club is strong in taste, starts with a punch at first but gets followed by a long-lasting intensive taste of Wood, citrus and leather. I love this rhum and when I had enjoyed a special dinner it's the right choice to finish the evening with a cigar!

During the week I prefer others, easier rhums ...

Posted almost 6 years ago by Tomas 🇸🇰 | 38 ratings

I got this one as b-day present from my colleagues. I really enjoy that bottle. Great full flavor, very smooth, just at right level of sweetness. So easy to sip that I finished bottle sooner than I would like :)

Posted 4 years ago by boris_dv 🇸🇰 | 49 ratings

No bad, but you can find much better rums in this price range

Posted over 4 years ago by Vlado 🇸🇰 | 51 ratings

Kubánsky rum v o.k. fľaši s modrou etiketou...=) to sa len tak nevidí. Má peknú jantárovú až mahagónovú farbi. Po naliatí typická kubánska vôňa, dominuje kakao, tabak, snáď orechy. Zacítil som aj hrozienka, rum má skôr ťažšiu, zemitejšu arómu. Chuť celkom kopíruje aromatické vnemy, je veľmi dobre vyvážený, komplexný, neskôr je zemitý, v dlhšom závere je cítiť aj drevo. Rum je stáčaný do fliaš priamo zo sudov, preto nesie aj označenie "barrel proof". Povedal by som, že tento suchší rum je skôr pre skúsenejšieho rumového degustátora...slušná práca maestrov ronerov...je to dobrý rum, ale nie pre každého.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Christian Boldt 🇩🇰 | 21 ratings

Super go rom. Klart den beste Havana club jeg har prøvet

Posted almost 6 years ago by Alexander 🇧🇬 | 5 ratings

Truly rich in taste and flavours...I always start thirsty and within few weeks a slow down as the bottle is getting more and more empty. This is a perfect rum for gift(it comes in a stylish packaging), dinners, etc.

Posted 6 years ago by Oliver 🇪🇸 | 61 ratings

This rum is unusual to me. Although it has a lightly strong alcohol taste (45%) the flavour is very well balanced, don't know if smooth is the right word here as alcohol presence still hits hards. It tastes a bit fresh with lot of wood (typically Havana Club I would say), a bit of leather and much more probably I can't describe, not sweet at all, very dry. The first glass surprises as it is really interesting, but it is difficult to drink a second one immediately after it, you get enough of it very soon too. Does not make a good mixer and for the price I would not recommend that. I have divided feelings about this rum: I like it and don't at the same time.

Posted 6 years ago by Herman 🇺🇸 | 103 ratings

Was given to me as a gift from a very popular rum aficionado. My only previous experience with Cuban rum was Havana Club Anejo Especial which I found had a strong tobacco taste. This one is quite different. Somewhat strong smell, but with a no excuses flair. Still quite a bite, but much smoother than the Anejo. Not too much sweetness, and still a taste of tobacco but much lighter. It has a bit of a burn, but not too strong. Overall a nice addition to the collection.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Slgrs 🇳🇱 | 1 rating

Only just getting into rum and most certainly not an expert in any ways but I would say its a very good effort. I have had my share of rums over the years and I found Selection de maestro to be very smooth. I tend to find common rums to be enjoyable when mixed but on its own they can be a bit too sharp for me. Nothing special and relatively high in price but I would recommend it. Bottle looks nice, accompanying canister doesn't add value for me at all.

Posted over 1 year ago by Trotinete 🇷🇴 | 47 ratings

Im Geruch ein wenig Marille, Pfirsich, Tabak und Alkohol
Im Geschmack Früchte, Rosinen, Tabak, Holz, ein wenig Vanille und ein wenig feurig, hat auch immerhin 45% Alkohol, nicht süß.
Im ganzen Gesehen ein sehr guter Tropfen der in meiner Sammlung einen fixen Platz bekommen wird !




Brand Details

Name: Sherry Casks Finish 5-12 Years
Company: Emperor
Type: Aged
Distillation: Column Still (1-4)
ABV: 40.0%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2915
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514