Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year rum

Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year

United States | Aged

7.6/10
219 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
9
15
53
80
49
9

Rate Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

219 Papas Pilar Dark 24-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

DAMITJOE ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 8 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Had it on the rocks with juice of half a lime. I like the blonde better. This is OK, seems to have some added flavors, almost a mocha or carob taste.Not bad, not great.

RedBlaze6 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 26 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Sweet maple syrup aroma with medium alcohol scent. First sip gives a bit of an alcohol kick, which transitions to pepper, followed by a very distinct maple flavor. The alcohol bite covers some of the heavy sweetness. Found bitterness somewhere in the middle. Starts hard but goes down with that smooth maple. Drinking on the rocks as opposed to neat is where this rum shines. Almost requires a splash of water or some ice to defeat that strange bitterness flavor. Still very enjoyable, especially if maple is what gets your rocks off.

The bottle is quite sexy but hard to pour without spilling some. Easily remedied by licking the bottle after you pour yourself a glass.

shelteredexistence ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 49 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

I was bowled over by this rum, that's all there is to it. it's pure heaven to sip or drink on the rocks. There is incredible complexity here, a wealth of lovely flavors from start to finish, and it looks simply gorgeous in the glass. Plus the marketing campaign behind it - including the beautifully-proportioned bottle - gives you plenty to expound upon with novices and aficionados alike. My question is this: is it rum? Created from a blend of rums from five different locations, using both pot and column stills, following by solera-type aging in no less than three types of cask...well, by the end, I wonder if they've lost the thread. Though in my mind superior to the two Dos Maderas products from Williams & Humbert, this rum similarly "steps over the line" when it comes to the heavy influence of wine-derivative flavors (port and sherry). So, if you are looking to experience the directions rum can take in the hands of people willing to explore new ground, this is one exciting rum. If, however, you are a traditionalist who prefers that rum hues close to its roots, with old techniques refined rather than avoided, you had best look elsewhere (like, perhaps, the Zafra 21 Reserve).

Bryan Gehrett ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 34 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Fantastic. A great nose with all of the features you would expect from a very well made aged rum. If you are a lover of Ron Zacapa XO you will love this rum at a much lower price point. Very buttery across the tongue. Hints of all the good stuff. Molasses, vanilla, brown sugar, and toasted coconut at the finish.

chasles22 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 56 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

this is so cloyingly fake maple syrup sweet that i really just cannot stomach it. if anyone wants the 85% of a bottle i have left stop over, you can take it with you.

Viktor ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 16 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Maple syrup. Smells and tastes like maple syrup. I like my rum neat or with ice, but this one is in limited amounts. It starts with maple syrup, then some vanilla, maple syrup, chocolate maybe?, maple syrup, some earth flavor from barrels, then comes to a close with warm throats and maple syrup. Too sweet for me, but I know a lot of people that love it when it is served because of its easy drinking sweetness.

Matthew Brown ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 27 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

It's derivative wine barrel palate is too overwhelming. Not for the rum-public like us. A cynical product. I would suggest avoiding

Michael Huff ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 100 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Yeah, like everyone else is noting, there is a maply pang to this one that I think kind of confuses me. I wouldn't call it a good sipping rum, but it's not terrible either.

Phillip Smith ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 7 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

When you think of Hemingway, you think of grit, leather, oak, strength, toughness, and character. All those things can be said about this rum. Its as complex as its namesake. With warm overtones of maple, caramel, and vanilla. Definitely a worthy of a long pour and a long night!

Gerome ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 43 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

The nose of vanilla and butterscotch are present on the nose and in the mouth. It's very sweet and dry. Smooth and has a delicious aftertaste. Amber color in glass, it's burn is very inspiring.. I just smile and want to take more sips. This is. Must have sipper in the collection. Reminds me of centenario 25, but with more complexityโ€‹. There is alot going on with this rum, I shall get to the bottom of it!.

Update 4/17/2017.

After tasting others the complexity and burn is just right. Excellent.

Rum-Schnacker ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช | 131 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

molasses. half dry.
i smell coffee, some dark cherry notes, a bunch of caramel, vanilla and some nuts, i think pistachio. a little bit of banana and then the toffee is the lead note. mystical smell and fantastic aroma!
in the mouth the papas pilar seems to be very smooth and mild. with a little peak of harshness. some spice. caramel and pear. a hint of banana. round and balanced. mocha and dark caramel.
5/10 - add 5 points if its ok for you, if they put sugar in.
the rum is really great of taste. the mocha and caramel taste is overwhelming good! its a rum for a good end of the day! in the end it is sweetend, so i subtract 5 points.




Brand Details

Name: Dark 24-Year
Company: Papas Pilar
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 24

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading