Kraken Black Spiced rum

Kraken Black Spiced

Trinidad and Tobago | Spiced | 47.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

Kraken Black Spiced Rum was first introduced by Proximo Spirits in 2010 . The dark rum is infused with 11 “secret” spices, caramel and other natural flavors.

The rum gets its name after the mythical sea creature 'The Kraken'. As legend has it, this terrifying creature attacked ships at sea during the 18th and 19th centuries - possibly for all the rum on board.

6.0/10
1634 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
31
60
113
250
437
433
191
69
33

Rate Kraken Black Spiced

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

1634 Kraken Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

KJ 🇺🇸 | 24 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

If this was a blackstrap rum, I would give it an 8, because it is very unique, has a beautiful color, and taste awesome. If you want a different type of dark and stormy, use Kraken and a not too gingery ginger beer. You don't want to overdo it with too much ginger and spices.

As a spiced rum, I give it a 6 for an overall score of 7. Spiced rum drinkers may add it to their collection for diversity for a small fee of $20, but at the end of the day it's a lightweight in comparison to other spiced rums. I don't actually taste 11 spices, but they well may be there. To some degree, it's like your amateur bartender's "Long Island Iced Tea"; you only taste 2 of the 11 ingredients he claims to have used and you're a little disappointed because you feel jipped (i.e. cheated, bamboozled, conned), but once it's said and done, that drink hit the spot.

Blake Jones 🇦🇺 | 2 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Incredible any way, neat, rocks, mixed, cocktails. Brilliant flavour with heaps of spice.

Joe 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

It's strong! Dark rum at 47% and if u aren't careful the kraken will wreck your ship. It's a boat ride kind a drink. I love it and often it is my daily summer fun drink.

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

A sweet rum with a thin syrupy viscosity but there's some spice in it I just don't like. I don't understand all the high marks it gets here. Oh well...to each his own. There are simply much better spiced rums available. Bayou and Siesta Key are two that come to mind immediate. Both put Crapen...pardon me...Kraken to shame.

alby 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Once you get over the fact that it looks and sounds cool, you realise that it is a super bad rum.

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Sugar: 30 gpl. Tastes like Dr Pepper on steroids. Lots of Nutmeg on the nose and overall it's pretty smooth. It goes great in eggnog or orange juice, but I would not serve this as a sipping rum. There are some drink recipes out there that you could use this in and one of my friends loves this with Diet Coke, while another drinks it neat.
Updated December 2020. I have decided this is the best spiced rum for eggnog. I did a taste test with Kraken and 2 other spiced rums and the Kraken was deemed the best by myself but most importantly by my wife and friends. Therefore I am bumping this up to a 7 for that reason.

Kasey 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted almost 8 years ago

Tasty, strong but smooth. I usually mix with Coke or ginger beer.

JF boutin 🇨🇦 | 12 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Tampered rum pushed to its limit. If you like to know what drinking a glass of vanilla Essence is like, try this rum. Even mixed with Coke, vanilla remains too strong. awful.

Mike McPhee 🇨🇦 | 13 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

I was hesitant to try this rum when it first came out. I wasn't sure what to expect. Since I always have a large variety of rum on hand it wasn't a priority. I finally took the plunge & was pleasantly surprised. Not one to drink straight in my opinion but mixed with Cola it came out very well. Not one you want to over do it with but a mildly strong drink will hit the spot. Mixes incredibly well with Dr. Pepper so I recommend making that.

Anders Sjogren 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Spice rum that are perfect to use to mix with ginger beer. Also used it in my cooking like bolongese.




Brand Details

Name: Black Spiced
Company: Kraken
Type: Spiced
Distillation: Column Still (1-4)
ABV: 47.0%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading