Kraken Black Spiced rum

Kraken Black Spiced

Trinidad and Tobago | Spiced | 47.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

Kraken Black Spiced Rum was first introduced by Proximo Spirits in 2010 . The dark rum is infused with 11 “secret” spices, caramel and other natural flavors.

The rum gets its name after the mythical sea creature 'The Kraken'. As legend has it, this terrifying creature attacked ships at sea during the 18th and 19th centuries - possibly for all the rum on board.

6.0/10
1633 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
31
60
113
250
437
433
191
68
33

Rate Kraken Black Spiced

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

1633 Kraken Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Markus Lehto 🇫🇮 | 44 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Aroma is very spicy, sweet. Taste is direct flashback to 90's pharmacy cough medicine made with alcohol, liqoirice and sweeteners. Not as thick and black, though... Some condensed cola, maybe Dr. Pepperish taste.

Dot 🇵🇱 | 3 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Propably most overrated ~25 euro rum in the world. Havana 7 years and Plantation Original Dark are so much better.

Mujuru 🇺🇸 | 118 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Not a fan of this. If you like off-brand diet soda mixed with rubbing alcohol, you might enjoy this. Anyone rating this over a 4 has not an earthly clue what decent rum should taste like. You might be able to turn your regular coke into an alcoholic Diet Coke substitute with this but that’s about the only use of it I can think of. Also per ALKO notes this is absolutely loaded with flavor additives in addition to ungodly amounts of sugar.

*Update June 2020* This rum tasted so horrible that I am traumatized. Almost a year later and I still have most of a bottle that I am unable to even think about opening because I can't stand even the smell of it.

*Update August 2020* After realizing that I could not in good conscience pass this bottle off on a colleague, I poured down the drain. This is to date the only rum I have ever rated a 1 and literally poured down the drain.

Nose: 1
Palate: 1
Aftertaste: 1
Smoothness: 1
Versatility: 1
Price: 6

Total: 1.8

Viktor 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

I tried this because I found it in a small bottle. I found it didn't have much of an aroma, maybe slightly sweet syrup. I was expecting a captain morgan nasty flavor, but I was pleasantly surprised. The spices are subtle and it actually sips decently. I got some nutmeg, vanilla, maybe some pepper? Makes an awesome rum and coke, and in a pinch isn't terrible neat or on the rocks.

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I'm guessing that they start with cheap, bulk rum and then add Worcestershire sauce or something, plus a ton of hair dye for color. This is not a delicious product. Their marketing department should get the credit for this rum's success, but it could just as easily be vodka.

HunterRomario 🇨🇿 | 329 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: neupřesněný Karibik
Aroma: Příjemně uhlazená, sametová vůně s broušenou kůží, melasou, lesním medem, marcipánem a kávou. (85 b)
Chuť: Chuť zprvu lehce nasládlá, kávová, pendreková, v dozvuku spíš do sucha. Zakončení je hodně melasové. (83 b)
Body: 84
Shrnutí: Solidní kořeněný rum, o vzorek od Nethara jsem musel bojovat, protože jsem dal ochutnat přítelkyni a tu velmi zaujal.

Gregor 🇸🇮 | 4 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Not to sweet, not to dry, nice rum spiced for every day.

Michael Evans 🇬🇧 | 81 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Good 1:1 with ginger and smooth enough to drink straight but not enough depth of flavour and very sweet. Overall a decent rum for the price tag.

zangyorange 🇳🇿 | 1 rating
Posted 9 months ago

This has been my go to for a while now. Something affordable that tastes good. Good for a dark and stormy or neat depending on my mood.

Diego 🇦🇺 | 20 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

When you want the Best in Fake, Go with Kraken, atleast the additives are natural so they say. You could make you're own brew with a standard aged rum and add spices yourself and would probably be awesome but not many would so hence this market. Enjoy if it's your thing. I didn't mind this one but prefer my rum unadulterated and wouldn't buy again.

Racketeer 🇬🇧 | 5 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

One of the first dark rums I tried. Whilst nice enough with coke I wouldn't suggest using this as a sipping rum. I always keep a bottle on the shelf, but have found myself drinking it less often in favour of nicer alternatives.




Brand Details

Name: Black Spiced
Company: Kraken
Type: Spiced
Distillation: Column Still (1-4)
ABV: 47.0%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading