Koloa Spice rum

Koloa Spice

United States | Spiced

Koloa Spice rum, a version of their White Rum infused with a spice blend. Bottled at 80 proof with added caramel color.

via American Rum Report
5.5/10
24 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
1
3
9
3
2
1
1

Rate Koloa Spice

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

24 Koloa Spice ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Felipe P ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 70 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Pretty artificial, but a solid start. With others that equal it out there, can't see this one catching on.

RosieSox ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 49 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

This seems to be their gold with a sugar millโ€™s worth of sugar and someone knocked the whole spice cabinet into the still by mistake! It smells like a syrup and tastes like they just dumped spice in, forgot they had already added the spice and then dumped more in.

Alan ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 89 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I wanted to like this more than I did. I found the sweetness overpowering the actual spice component which was far too subtle for my taste. In several cocktail recipes, I found myself having to add additional falernum, allspice dram or bitters, depending on the drink.

Jerry de la Hoya ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 26 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Sickeningly sweet and very alcoholic. One dimensional artificial vanilla flavor with backdrop of muddled spices. Has a medicinal finish. The longer I wait and reflect, the worse this rum gets. I recall drinking it on a beach late one night and it being very good. I must have had too much. Would not recommend as a sipper. It could be used for mixed drinks, but it is rather pricey. There are much better spiced rums for the price. In fact, I may buy the Kirkland Spiced just to do a side-by-side comparison.

andyist ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 17 ratings
Posted 1 month ago

After trying their cocoa flavoured rum (which was a surprising pleasent experience), this was at the other end of the scale. The flavour here reminded me of medicine, cough syrup, there is also a bite. Generally it's harsh and not one I can recommend.

Wowbagger44 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 18 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Complex spices, but not enough body that I'd reach for it to sip. Likely amazing in hot cocktails

dmagh ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 3 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Excellent vanilla taste. We always go to the Koloa shop when on Kauai.

Foderetti ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 19 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Was gifted this rum by a relative. Nothing crazy to write home about, but had a fine taste. For a spiced rum it was for sure on the sweeter end of flavor and thats nothing to complain about, the after taste was a touch on the uneasy side, but would quickly subside. If you want something a tad different wouldn't turn you away from this to try. If a sweet spice peaks your fancy, you'll have have good time.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 347 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Not good. Starts ok but the finish is very harsh. There are literally a dozen better spiced rums out there. Many cost less.

Trogdog ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 13 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Still new at this, but one of the better that I've tasted. Warm, smooth, vanilla and incmon.

mjlanger (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 25 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

This is ok. Not really outstanding or bad in any particular area




Brand Details

Name: Spice
Company: Koloa
Type: Spiced
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading