Background Image
Preload image
Koloa Spice rum

Koloa Spice

United States | Spiced

Koloa Spice rum, a version of their White Rum infused with a spice blend. Bottled at 80 proof with added caramel color.

via American Rum Report
5.6/10
26 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
1
4
9
4
2
1
1

Rate Koloa Spice

Tap to Rate

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

26 Koloa Spice Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Felipe P ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 70 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Pretty artificial, but a solid start. With others that equal it out there, can't see this one catching on.

RosieSox ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 49 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This seems to be their gold with a sugar millโ€™s worth of sugar and someone knocked the whole spice cabinet into the still by mistake! It smells like a syrup and tastes like they just dumped spice in, forgot they had already added the spice and then dumped more in.

Alan ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 89 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I wanted to like this more than I did. I found the sweetness overpowering the actual spice component which was far too subtle for my taste. In several cocktail recipes, I found myself having to add additional falernum, allspice dram or bitters, depending on the drink.

Jerry de la Hoya ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 26 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Sickeningly sweet and very alcoholic. One dimensional artificial vanilla flavor with backdrop of muddled spices. Has a medicinal finish. The longer I wait and reflect, the worse this rum gets. I recall drinking it on a beach late one night and it being very good. I must have had too much. Would not recommend as a sipper. It could be used for mixed drinks, but it is rather pricey. There are much better spiced rums for the price. In fact, I may buy the Kirkland Spiced just to do a side-by-side comparison.

TheJayHawk ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 37 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

This spiced rum is definitely very vanilla forward but for a spiced rum its not too bad. However, it is overpriced.

AZMark ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 35 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

I like Koloa rums generally. This one is OK+, even though I donโ€™t like sweet rums per se. As a sipper, I cut it with Koloa Gold. The best Koloa spice rum is their dark. When I want to go full Hawaiian, I mix up the Koloa offerings. Mmmm mmm.

Mutiny17 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

When in Hawaii you have to try their rum, this is a good way to go.

andyist ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 28 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

After trying their cocoa flavoured rum (which was a surprisingly pleasant experience), this was at the other end of the scale. The flavour here reminded me of medicine, cough syrup, there is also a harsh bite. While it might not be 1 star paint striper, it's rough and not one I can recommend.

Wowbagger44 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 21 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Complex spices, but not enough body that I'd reach for it to sip. Likely amazing in hot cocktails

dmagh ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 3 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Excellent vanilla taste. We always go to the Koloa shop when on Kauai.

Foderetti ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 23 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Was gifted this rum by a relative. Nothing crazy to write home about, but had a fine taste. For a spiced rum it was for sure on the sweeter end of flavor and thats nothing to complain about, the after taste was a touch on the uneasy side, but would quickly subside. If you want something a tad different wouldn't turn you away from this to try. If a sweet spice peaks your fancy, you'll have have good time.




Brand Details

Company: Koloa
Type: Spiced
Name: Spice
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown

Professional Reviews