Koloa Dark rum

Koloa Dark

United States | Dark

Koloa Dark rum, a version of their White Rum with added caramel color and flavors. Bottled unaged at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report
7.1/10
60 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
3
10
11
20
4
4

Rate Koloa Dark

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

60 Koloa Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

lonefalcon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 47 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

This is a great dark rum for making drinks. It can be sipped but is a bit medicinal and young tasting.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 521 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

I think Koloa is one of the best American rum makers. This dark rum is my favorite of all dark rums.

Smells and tastes of vanilla, chocolate, caramel, and spice. Perfect at 40%abv and quite easy drinking straight. An amazing rum from Koloa!

bill ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 88 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This is the best dark rum I have ever had. Don't get me wrong, I would rather have a good aged rum but if you want a dark rum then this is one. Great dark color, excellent aroma and great taste if little after burn.

RumRunner ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Put me in the minority that enjoyed this on the rocks as much as I did in a mai tai. I prefer a sweeter profile, and this delivers. Nice, deep caramel and molasses on the nose that carries through the palette. It might lack the complexity of some of the finer aged rums, and the price runs on the high side outside Hawaii, but I would consider this to be a special spiced rum.

cK ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 65 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I certainly was not expecting the best mixing rum I've had to be from anywhere but the Caribbean. However, Koala Dark wins that prize. This vanilla flavoured rum with hints of coffee and chocolate was amazing mixed with coke, but was also surprisingly good over rocks or straight. Not quite as sophisticated a finish as more expensive rums, but still incredible.

Qalfy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted 4 months ago

This dark rum is great when on vacation on Kaua'i, and works decently in many Mai Tais, however after bringing a bottle home, the caramel was overwhelming and makes it hard to put into drinks. I'm usually a fan of sweet drinks but the caramel is too much. Still the price is really good value for money!

MaxMunafo (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 67 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

I was disappointed to learn (after my $45 USD purchase) that this is an unaged rum with coloring and flavoring. I knew it was colored because the stuff is nearly pure black, but the realization came at the first sip when my palate was immediately overwhelmed by vanilla, caramel, and burnt sugar. Donโ€™t get me wrong, it doesnโ€™t taste BAD like some rums of this style (looking at you, Cruzan Blackstrap), but it is cloyingly sweet and unmistakably artificial. That being said, I still use it when a black blended rum is called for in a recipe, though mostly because Hamilton rums are not available in my state.

Rummythegilly ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 5 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Vanilla overkill. Bit expensive and too sweet like all the koala rums. Nice to taste but wouldnโ€™t buy again.

Amalas ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 69 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

All I could taste was sweet sweet sweet. Had some interesting floral notes, which was intriguing, but I just could not get past the sweetness. Would probably be okay in mixed drinks, but would absolutely not recommend with Coke.

Earl Elliott ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 213 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Sugar: 28 GPL. Surprisingly good rum at a reasonable price ($35. USD)
Normally, dark rums are for mixing and you wouldn't think of sipping them as most are "well rums" but this rum surprised and impressed me. I found tastes of vanilla, chocolate,coffee, and caramel are present but the coffee and chocolate are predominant. This is a smooth rum that finishes with just the right amount of heat. I would suggest this is the best dark rum for mixing out there, but I am going to serve this as a sipping rum. If you like Goslings Family Reserve rum then you will like this one.

Frank Taylor ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Although it makes a fabulous float, it is too good (and costly) to be used on a mai tai. Never use it as a mixer, a waste of money and great rum. By far the best rum out of Hawaii. Almost a desert liqueur, as it is somewhat sweet, but it is fabulous on the rocks at the end of your evening, being smooth, rich, and flavorful.




Brand Details

Name: Dark
Company: Koloa
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading