Koloa Dark rum

Koloa Dark

United States | Dark

Koloa Dark rum, a version of their White Rum with added caramel color and flavors. Bottled unaged at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report
7.1/10
59 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
3
9
11
20
4
4

Rate Koloa Dark

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

59 Koloa Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 81 ratings

This stuff is like the best of EVERYTHING dark!! Aroma carries vanilla, chocolate, coffee, charred wood, licorice and root beer! The taste is not nearly as complex as the nose, but it's still pretty good: it enters with thick, vanilla custard, followed by a surprisingly pronounced cola kick. Then an odd, but somehow appropriate finish of overripe plums shows up with molasses.
Drinking on it's own is fine, but this stuff makes the best gosh darn rum'n'cokes ever!! At $40 a pop, it's expensive as a mixer, but if that old standby is your thing, this is absolutely worth the money!

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 513 ratings

I think Koloa is one of the best American rum makers. This dark rum is my favorite of all dark rums.

Smells and tastes of vanilla, chocolate, caramel, and spice. Perfect at 40%abv and quite easy drinking straight. An amazing rum from Koloa!

Posted almost 6 years ago by bill ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 88 ratings

This is the best dark rum I have ever had. Don't get me wrong, I would rather have a good aged rum but if you want a dark rum then this is one. Great dark color, excellent aroma and great taste if little after burn.

Posted over 6 years ago by RumRunner ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings

Put me in the minority that enjoyed this on the rocks as much as I did in a mai tai. I prefer a sweeter profile, and this delivers. Nice, deep caramel and molasses on the nose that carries through the palette. It might lack the complexity of some of the finer aged rums, and the price runs on the high side outside Hawaii, but I would consider this to be a special spiced rum.

Posted 6 years ago by cK ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 65 ratings

I certainly was not expecting the best mixing rum I've had to be from anywhere but the Caribbean. However, Koala Dark wins that prize. This vanilla flavoured rum with hints of coffee and chocolate was amazing mixed with coke, but was also surprisingly good over rocks or straight. Not quite as sophisticated a finish as more expensive rums, but still incredible.

Posted 2 months ago by Qalfy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating

This dark rum is great when on vacation on Kaua'i, and works decently in many Mai Tais, however after bringing a bottle home, the caramel was overwhelming and makes it hard to put into drinks. I'm usually a fan of sweet drinks but the caramel is too much. Still the price is really good value for money!

Posted 10 months ago by MaxMunafo (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 67 ratings

I was disappointed to learn (after my $45 USD purchase) that this is an unaged rum with coloring and flavoring. I knew it was colored because the stuff is nearly pure black, but the realization came at the first sip when my palate was immediately overwhelmed by vanilla, caramel, and burnt sugar. Donโ€™t get me wrong, it doesnโ€™t taste BAD like some rums of this style (looking at you, Cruzan Blackstrap), but it is cloyingly sweet and unmistakably artificial. That being said, I still use it when a black blended rum is called for in a recipe, though mostly because Hamilton rums are not available in my state.

Posted 3 years ago by Rummythegilly ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 5 ratings

Vanilla overkill. Bit expensive and too sweet like all the koala rums. Nice to taste but wouldnโ€™t buy again.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Amalas ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 68 ratings

All I could taste was sweet sweet sweet. Had some interesting floral notes, which was intriguing, but I just could not get past the sweetness. Would probably be okay in mixed drinks, but would absolutely not recommend with Coke.

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 213 ratings

Sugar: 28 GPL. Surprisingly good rum at a reasonable price ($35. USD)
Normally, dark rums are for mixing and you wouldn't think of sipping them as most are "well rums" but this rum surprised and impressed me. I found tastes of vanilla, chocolate,coffee, and caramel are present but the coffee and chocolate are predominant. This is a smooth rum that finishes with just the right amount of heat. I would suggest this is the best dark rum for mixing out there, but I am going to serve this as a sipping rum. If you like Goslings Family Reserve rum then you will like this one.

Posted 6 years ago by Frank Taylor ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings

Although it makes a fabulous float, it is too good (and costly) to be used on a mai tai. Never use it as a mixer, a waste of money and great rum. By far the best rum out of Hawaii. Almost a desert liqueur, as it is somewhat sweet, but it is fabulous on the rocks at the end of your evening, being smooth, rich, and flavorful.




Brand Details

Name: Dark
Company: Koloa
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2886
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
540
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
513