Appleton Estate V/X rum

Appleton Estate V/X

Jamaica | Gold

Appleton Estate V/X rum is comprised of 15 rum blends that have been distilled from molasses in copper stills and aged between 5-10 years in oak casks (hence the "V/X"). After blending, Appleton V/X receives additional aging to unite the flavors before bottling.

6.1/10
279 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
6
9
43
98
96
15
3
1

Rate Appleton Estate V/X

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

279 Appleton Estate V/X ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 120 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Starts as a lighter, fruity taste and ends with more of a whiskey, smokey flavour. Longer finish than most, with a spice that lingers. More dry then sweet.

Lonely Coast πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 16 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I will reserve 1's for rums I can't finish. With great effort, I did finish the bottle, but not until I dumped a few packets of raw sugar into it. I bought this at Sam's Club because of the $16 price. While I knew this would be no sipper, I thought, based on reputation and reviews I was buying a good mixer. Nope. This stuff was awful. It tasted like it had been aged in cardboard, not oak. I'm not exaggerating. It tasted like wet cardboard, or I what I presume wet cardboard to taste like. And that taste over powered even the drinks I tried making it with it. The taste cut through coke, ginger ale, and even fruit juices. It just made me mad drinking it. I was going to pour the rest down the sink, but about that time I was reading about the added sugar controversy and how some folks had experimented by adding sugar to some of their low end rums to see how it improved taste. So I added some sugar, and it did cut the overpowering cardboard taste down enough to mask it with mixers. I know this is the low end of the Appleton's line and they make some better rums, but I'll wait to try those on someone else's dime.

Eric πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 7 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

This is the first aged rum I'd come across. I tried it while in Jamaica on a cruise and absolutely loved it. Bought a few small bottles to bring back. I've been hooked on aged rum ever since. This one is pretty smooth with a bit of a harsh finish, but the flavors are outstanding. Not your typical rum with strong sweetness. This is refreshingly flavorful. Unique to say the least.

BerodeQuentin πŸ‡«πŸ‡· | 40 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Color : Light brown
Flavor :vanilla, toffee, caramel, maple syrup, marmalade & ripe fruits
Palate : Dry, light with some spice flavor.

Its a good rum on its own and can be blended easily.

Recommended cocktails : Mai-Tai, Zombie, Rum Sour.

Jaycee πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 40 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

My first rum of non-mainstream. Oh bring it back. Enjoyable mixer

legwoods πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 5 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Excellent Basic Rum for your rum/cola. Grenat flavor

mistercoughy πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Naturally sweet, with some (but not too much) of the familiar Jamaican funk. This rum, btw, is miraculous in Mai-Tais, paired with an aged agricole and the required mixers. Don't sell this stuff short. It's a work-horse in the Tiki cocktail world.

Michael Shell πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 4 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

My brother generously brought this back to me after a Caribbean cruise. I was quite new in the rum world and this was a fun step! This introduced me to Jamaican rums, which are quite unique. I look forward to trying the older expressions of Appleton because this shows potential. It was a tad harsh on the palette while also presenting an interesting taste challenge. I noted citrus and nut as primary flavors. Drinking this straight up is preferred for the experience but mixing wouldn't be too shameful ;)

Renaudco πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 15 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Appleton is usually regarded with positive views. I wonder if it is really justified, while this bottle isn't bad, it isn't superb neither.

Good well around.

James Wall πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 10 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

tastes like a Jamaican rum should, big flavours but a little bit harsh

liamhansen10 πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 28 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Good for drinking on the rocks or mixed with coke. If you're looking for an easy low-price rum, this one is an easy choice.