Background Image
Preload image
Appleton Estate Special Gold rum

Appleton Estate Special Gold

Jamaica | Gold | 40% ABV

Appleton Estate Special Gold rum is made using column and pot stills. The rum is then aged in Jack Danielโ€™s whiskey barrels and hand-blended.

The Special Gold Appleton brand is said to have been first blended during World War II as a substitute for whiskey, which was at the time difficult to find.

5.2/10
94 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
14
32
27
11
1
1

Rate Appleton Estate Special Gold

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

94 Appleton Estate Special Gold Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Corneliusl ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ด | 89 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

I like to use this rum in tiki drinks that calls for a golden jamaican rum. Not very tasty for sipping though.

Chris Williamson ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 81 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This is what someone buys you when you say you like rum and the just grap anything on the shelf

thefatrumpirate ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 121 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

Not brilliant but not bad either for mixed drinks

Lacks the Ooomph of the V/X

Bruce ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 9 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

For mixin' not sippin'. Does a darn good job at that. Very light body with some sweet rummy tastes. For the price, it gives you all you could expect.

Grand Master Jay ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 80 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This is a cheap okay rum. Take this to a party, hand it in and enjoy mixed with what ever. Not a sipper but the price you pay for this what do you expect

Graham ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 14 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This bottle is simply to load up drinks to get the evening going. Keep this at any bar near a body of water and enjoy

Earl Elliott ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 236 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Sugar 0 GPL.
Should be in a thin bottle to match the thin taste. Use a mixer, and with the thin taste you will need to add a bit more than usual. A friend had this in a Mojito and I tried one as well. Hard to taste any rum and I watched the bartender make it. Tried it neat and the taste was there for a moment and then it was gone. Not offensive in taste but it does compete with the Bacardi mixing rums, and for fans of Appleton's on vacation, I can see why it's used.

Allan Bjerreskov ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 116 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

Use this for your run of the mill cocktails and punch bowls. Won't make them excellent but does it's job.

Robbo ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 2 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

As a mixer it's ok but no more than that, would I buy to keep on the shelf........ No probably not as there are better mixers out there!

Margus Mรคgi ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ช | 86 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Very spirit taste kind of a rum. Definitely a mixer.

Robin_Loves_Rum ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 13 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

I was a moment to enjoy the cold Jamaican Rum on the rocks with a good taste and a great sunset view in front of me. I bought this glass of (double) Rum at the Nevi Bar in Summer Island - Maldives.




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Appleton Estate
Country: Jamaica
Name: Special Gold
ABV: 40%
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews