Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Appleton Estate Special Gold rum

Appleton Estate Special Gold

Jamaica | Gold | 40% ABV

Appleton Estate Special Gold rum is made using column and pot stills. The rum is then aged in Jack Daniel’s whiskey barrels and hand-blended.

The Special Gold Appleton brand is said to have been first blended during World War II as a substitute for whiskey, which was at the time difficult to find.

5.2/10
94 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
14
32
27
11
1
1

Rate Appleton Estate Special Gold

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

94 Appleton Estate Special Gold Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Corneliusl 🇳🇴 | 89 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

I like to use this rum in tiki drinks that calls for a golden jamaican rum. Not very tasty for sipping though.

I3R0K3N7FEET 🇬🇧 | 77 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

I found it a little bitter straight, and that bitter edge worked its way in when mixed with cola. There is certainly a strong caramel flavour here and it isn't too bad, but I would rather go for the Havana Anejo especial.

Lyle 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Not the best but not bad. Definately not the smoothest drink I've had straight but would mix decently with other beverages.

Hank 🇺🇸 | 17 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

First had this in Jamaica in 1972. I was a rum and Coke guy just out of the army. My taste has shifted to aged, sipping rums, so this is no longer an option. I have fond memories though.

Wonky Donkey 🇬🇧 | 6 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Yup,, agree with all the others, nice mixer - would pick others in preference however, still a good rum

Dimas 🇺🇸 | 15 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

It is a good base for cocktails!, not recommendable for other uses

mike carter 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Not a huge fan of this rum straight up. Better mixed but I'd do the 12 yr. all day.

Rayden 🇮🇹 | 43 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

I tasted yesterday, a bar nearby home of my parents. I thought it was much worse, and instead I have to say I was surprised.
It is a decent golden rum...nothing special of course, but not bad.

Hedonist 🇩🇪 | 59 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Great Mixer, but unfortunaltelly not so easy to get in Germy in normal stores.

Gareth 🇨🇼 | 93 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

this rum is for mixing in punch bowls etc just a simple rum

R.Ennell 🇨🇦 | 26 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

if you want to add a (good) taste of the island to any drinks you are making,




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Appleton Estate
Country: Jamaica
Name: Special Gold
ABV: 40%
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

Loading...