Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Appleton Estate Special Gold rum

Appleton Estate Special Gold

Jamaica | Gold | 40% ABV

Appleton Estate Special Gold rum is made using column and pot stills. The rum is then aged in Jack Daniel’s whiskey barrels and hand-blended.

The Special Gold Appleton brand is said to have been first blended during World War II as a substitute for whiskey, which was at the time difficult to find.

5.2/10
94 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
3
5
14
32
27
11
0
1
1

Rate Appleton Estate Special Gold

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

94 Appleton Estate Special Gold Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Corneliusl 🇳🇴 | 89 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

I like to use this rum in tiki drinks that calls for a golden jamaican rum. Not very tasty for sipping though.

Charles-antoine 🇫🇷 | 11 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Découvert au Mexique, il est un peu agressif et fort mais assez fruité smooth banana. Vraiment a son meilleur dans des cocktails type mojito.

EDUARDO LANDAVERY 🇵🇪 | 75 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Un ron que se encuentra en muchas partes, por lo mismo nunca falta en un bar de algún club.
Un sabor que no convence pero se comporta bien para su juventud.

Graham Davie 🇬🇧 | 68 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Not the best from Appleton, but neither is it the worst. It has a real rum aroma that promises slightly more than it delivered.
Smooth enough to drink neat, but made a great rum and coke.
For the price it’s fine however you take it, neat or mixed.
Graham

Dante De Rubin 🇲🇽 | 42 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Its a good rum, but I prefer other rums. Its too sweet!

Chad 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Enjoyed some of this at a family gathering it may have been an older bottle because alcohol content was 43% have not been able to find it over 40% now. Enjoyed it mixed..

Joshua 🇺🇸 | 29 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This was some terrible rubbing alcohol. I was in Mexico and asked for a shot of Appleton estate thinking I was going to get one of the better ones and they served this because the rest was out. Probably the worst rum I've had. Kind of reminds me of the stuff we drank in college until we got real jobs and started drinking better liquors

Giancarlo 🇵🇪 | 63 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Es un ron muy ligero, sin absolutamente nada de cuerpo. De sabor fuerte, pero sin esencias. Solo bebible con cocacola.

Scott 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Being an Appleton Estate drinker Im a little dissapointed... It has a very light Estate flavor..very strong alcohol finish ..nothing more than a mixer

Tracy 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted almost 7 years ago

Is my absolute favorite drinking rum... so smooth. Love to have this after a long day of work.

Tom 🇺🇸 | 230 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Kind of harsh and strong burn going down. Doesn't really pack much flavor due to the limited time resting in barrels. Definitely a rum to be mixed, never enjoyed neat. Basic rum for having at home to make rum and cokes since the rum will set you back about $15 or so. I would definitely spend a little more and get a decent rum that can be enjoyed neat as well as mixed in your favorite cocktail. Diplomatico and Flor de Cana come to mind.




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Appleton Estate
Country: Jamaica
ABV: 40%
Name: Special Gold
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Luxurious Drinks
Loading...