Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Appleton Estate Special Gold rum

Appleton Estate Special Gold

Jamaica | Gold | 40% ABV

Appleton Estate Special Gold rum is made using column and pot stills. The rum is then aged in Jack Danielโ€™s whiskey barrels and hand-blended.

The Special Gold Appleton brand is said to have been first blended during World War II as a substitute for whiskey, which was at the time difficult to find.

5.2/10
94 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
14
32
27
11
1
1

Rate Appleton Estate Special Gold

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

94 Appleton Estate Special Gold Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Corneliusl ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ด | 89 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

I like to use this rum in tiki drinks that calls for a golden jamaican rum. Not very tasty for sipping though.

Greenmachine ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 1 rating
Posted over 3 years ago

I tasted this years and years ago in Jamaica. Perfect to mix but sipped neat there are way better rums. If the price is right just buy it

StevesSpirits ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 44 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

While I know this rum isn't really meant as a sipper, I'm giving it a go neat.

On the nose there is banana, pepper, salt, caramel, cloves and some sourness. The palate is caramel, light oak and pepper. Very thin and watery; simple flavours. The finish is coffee and very short.

Overall a very thin and simple rum, but there also isn't anything very off-putting.

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 504 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Maybe as a well brand but nothing great going on here, so save it for mixers, donโ€™t torture for me to drink neat.

Jason ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 60 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Was enjoying this as a mixer in a delish tiki drink. Then the end of the night came and I decided to try this on its own. Felt the burn for sure. Will leave it for the mixer world at best.

Supreme ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 37 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

This one goes down like water lol if your in a pinch and on a budget this is an okay choice!

CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 93 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Aye, this rum dances the line between heaven and hell. Decent aroma! The flavor be spicy, with hints of vanilla and... raisin? This be not an overly sweet rum, but definitely not for sippin'... not without a lot of better rum in you first! There be worse rum to be had. Still not sure? Flip a doubloon. Heads, you try a better rum. Tails, you try a better rum.

felix31x ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 35 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

This is ok with ok but nothing more, would not sip

Michael Loggies ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 52 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Not my favourite. The rum is sharp and without any body.

Nathan345 ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 27 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

This introduces people into the world of funky rums this has enough funk so people to get used to it, this is a favorite of mine. It's a rummy rum

JeffBuck ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 80 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

There's not really anything else to do with this other than mix it.




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Appleton Estate
Country: Jamaica
Name: Special Gold
ABV: 40%
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

Loading...