Posting your rating...
Havana Club Anejo Especial rum

Havana Club Anejo Especial

Cuba | Gold

Havana Club Añejo Especial is a blend of rums aged for up to five years produced from the fermented molasses of sugar cane harvested in Cuba. The molasses is combined with yeast and water, distilled using column stills, and aged in white oak barrels.

Havana Club was founded in 1878 by Jose Arechabala and later nationalized after the Cuban Revolution in 1959.

6.0/10
362 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
25
68
136
95
24
7

Rate Havana Club Anejo Especial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

362 Havana Club Anejo Especial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Ceve from Italy with 20 ratings

Buono ma per correzzione non da bere liscio un gusto non bene definibile

Ffffff

Posted 7 days ago by Szymon from Israel with 8 ratings

I will start with positive points which are: Havan Club Anejo Especial is a high quality all Around Run as a premium Alcoholic destilate it delivers Neat Sipping experience suitable to tag it as a Sipper and not necessarily a mixer. i would find it a waste to use it as a mixer, there are many lower tier and less pricey Rums i would destinate for this purpose. The Nose is quite Pleasant, Sweets such as Toffee and caramel. on the tongue it is still shouting youthfulness together with teenager manifestos about how the good old pirate days were,. however without actually being old enough to remember the days... it is not hiding it's high quality production. but will agree with you that it planned to grow older before your meeting which shortened it's life expectancy.
It's definitely a Sipper and not a mixer. would be a sin to mix it, and not enjoy it's youthful biting energy. and pleasant medium finish which raises hints of fruit and raisins even though we know aren't present there. the effect of not completed maturation. i haven't drank the more aged versions of Havana Club to compare with, but i am pretty sure that the 7 year old would be rounder and more complete exactly in those angles. over all it's a very nice cuban rum drinking experience, if it wasn't for the sometimes unstable pricing in my country, i would say that it's a good deal for the 25-30$ i paid for a 750ml bottle. however even slightly higher pricing puts in a worse position to equivalently priced rums such a Diplomatic Mantuano, which is, with all due respect to Havana Club a much more complete and fulfilling drinking experience. my Rating is 6/10 as i feel i have to save the 7 rating for it's slightly more mature and aged stated older brother.

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by Guimo from France with 10 ratings

A very basic rum to have with coke and lime. I wouldn't have it on its own.

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by emidio74 from Italy with 18 ratings

Se volete bere un rum discreto senza impegno, va bene... ma non oltre

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by TheRumDrinkingPirate from United Kingdom with 37 ratings

This is a nice rum but it does taste a little on the cheaper side.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by forthenachos from United States with 1 rating

I drank a bottle of this stuff and wandered around Havana one night several years ago. It was one of the best nights of my life. Smooth and great with Coke or on its own.

Small 16177231947339156371870840487249

Posted 2 months ago by aztropic from United States with 28 ratings

The entire HC line maintains a similar flavor,and it's a good one - loved the world over. Sweeter,woody/tobacco flavor rum. Great mixer that doubles as a cheap sipper. Cuban HC brands are my favorite,when they are available.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Rumpappa from South Africa with 3 ratings

This rum is hard on the throat when you try it straight. Got a cheap whiskey feel yo it. Ice helps somewhat. I like the nose though. Goes well with Coke or a Ginget Beer.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by 4candles from United Kingdom with 38 ratings

This rum is meant for mixing and not to be sipped. Good for a rum and cola.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Thoomas from Slovakia with 23 ratings

I have purchased it for 12 euros. I can smell a stronger alcohol aroma. Didn't enjoy drinking it neat because of that burn, but it was great for the cuba libre. After all, that's what even the producer suggests. For the price, it is a good mixer and I probably would buy it again.

Small 20210120 164232

Posted 3 months ago by KissAljas from Hungary with 65 ratings

Teljesen rendben lévő rumocska ,koktélokhoz,és lomg drinkekhez. Tisztán azért...hát na! 🤣😉