Posting your rating...
Havana Club 3-Year rum

Havana Club 3-Year

Cuba | Light | 40.0% ABV

Havana Club 3-Year rum is produced from molasses and aged for 3 years in white oak barrels before filtering and bottling.

Havana Club rum is produced in Cuba, where the company was founded in 1878 by José Arechabala. The company was nationalized in 1959 after the Cuban Revolution and now jointly owned by Pernod Ricard and the Cuban government.

5.5/10
525 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
11
30
76
125
150
95
26
11

Rate Havana Club 3-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

525 Havana Club 3-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 9 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

A nice, sour white rum that adds flavor to cocktails rather than disappearing like some or sticking out too much like others. Ideal in citrus cocktails. A bit pricey but for me the only better white rum is ED 3.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Greg from Finland with 5 ratings

You'll NEVER use Bacardi again after trying this rum. Smooth and balanced with just the right amount of kick. It's content to be the rum in a cocktail without taking over the other flavors, or being vodka-like in neutrality. Straight up it isn't very impressive, but if that's how you drink rum, then you should be buying far more expensive products anyway.

Posted over 4 years ago by Erwin from Netherlands with 3 ratings

Nice rum to mix. Straight up is also possible but then I would reccommend that you save your money and buy a better one. This is the bottle that let you forget Bacardi in a instance.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Chris from United States with 12 ratings

And I love it. Tried it straight and it was good. In a Mojito, Daiquiri and Cuba Libre it is fantastic. Lime and mint make this rum pop....it is very smooth and fresh...I like it! Thank you, Cuba.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 533 ratings

This was served to me instead of dark rum... Nearly spat it out as was very foul and left a horrible taste in the mouth

Posted almost 5 years ago by Willians Vivanco from Cuba with 5 ratings

Designed exclusively for Mojitos... I have it in the top of my coctails preferred rums, one of the best clear rums i tried... My rate is not bigger cause here the comparation is between all rums, but i really like it so much.

Posted over 6 years ago by jake from New Zealand with 23 ratings

Not the worst drink I've had, but it's what I'd call a rum flavoured ethanol. Got a gasoline aftertaste to it. Wouldn't see the point of buying this when at costs the same as the far better Especial. You give this to the freeloaders so they stop drinking your piss & start buying their own.

Posted over 5 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 76 ratings

This bad boy is beating it's younger sibling out of market. And for good cause. the taste is floverly-sweet and it makes great Mojito, Daiquiri, Piňacolada and Cuba libre. And other coctails as well. and it is old enough to have it's own attitude to present, so drinking neat "young" rums is finally enjoyable (but mostly on the rocks). Essential for cocktail lovers.

Posted 7 months ago by Sasoman from Slovenia with 11 ratings

It is one of my three preferable mixing white rums (other two being Flor the Cana extra seco 4 years and Plantation three stars). It is by no means a sipper, so don't drink it neat.

Posted 8 months ago by Simon_W from Switzerland with 35 ratings

Only lightly aromatic. But authentic, and that's the point. The aroma is definitely rummy and dry. And for the classic Cuban cocktails (Daiquiri, Mojito, I also tried Hemingway's favourite, the Papa doble) a lightly aromatic rum is precisely what you need.

Posted 11 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 91 ratings

There you have it. I am not expecting much nor do I want to staple this rum. It is just that I have a Conde de Cuba 3yo waiting and since that is advertised as a rum that also can be sipped I simply wanted to be able to make a comparison. Some say this HC 3yo can only be judged as a mixer but that is nonsense in my book; every rum out there is a sipper, or it is not. I don't mix. Ever.

This is an almost white rum with a sweet nose with some fruity notes (orange peel, very light) and a vague vanilla. But most of what I get is alcohol. On the palate it all remains very light. Partly because it is so young it didn't get the chance to pick up flavours but also because I think it was designed that way (some young rums have an abundance of taste). If I didn't had the bottle to check I could have mistaken this for a light Limonnaya (citrus-vodka). Aftertaste is short with mostly alcohol, a bit of citrus and a wee, wee bit of oak and vanilla.

A tad fiery due to its age and a bit sweetened (8gpl) but all in all certainly not undrinkable.
Nothing to look out for but it has a crisp and clean taste without the rough edges of the 7yo.