Havana Club 15-Year rum

Havana Club 15-Year

Cuba | Aged

8.0/10
70 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
10
33
16
5

Rate Havana Club 15-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

70 Havana Club 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Derek 🇨🇦 | 12 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Not worth the $150 CUP paid for it... but a very good rum if you don't think about how much you paid for it. Just because it's an expensive rum doesn't mean it's a good rum... but here... at least it's a good rum. I will have to cherish it on special occasions because I've never seen it anywhere in Canada and I don't see me buying this next time I'm in Cuba... looks like a one time around. If it was $80 a bottle and more readily available, it would be a different story.

Cezary 🇺🇸 | 20 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

I had it after dinner in Havana. Served in a huge, Cognac-type, balloon glass. Neat, of course. And accompanied by a smooth Cohiba cigar (even though I normally don't smoke).

Peter 🇪🇪 | 92 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I had a fantastic opportunity to taste 4 different Havana Clubs in Cuba. I have always been a fan of the 7 years old one.
Here is a summary of all the four.

1. Seleccion de Maestros
No too sweet, nice round taste, maybe little alcohol taste. Rum has 45% of alcohol so a small drop of water helps. Lot of fruits and some spice.

2. Anejo 15
More balanced and deeper in flavour than Seleccio de Maestros. Again, this might have something to do with Seleccios higher alcohol level. Flavours like apple, honey and spices.

3. Tributo 2016
A fantastic product, close to perfection. Really looking for the 2017 edition. Blend of rare casks some as old as 80 years H huge and long taste

4. Union

A collaboration between Havana Club and Chiba Cigars. You could actually say that nose and flavour has some tobacco and smoke in it. Maybe more sweet than other Havana Club products. For me the 2nd best so far.

Still looking for the Maximo, but price of about 1.500€ lets me still wait for it

BerodeQuentin 🇫🇷 | 40 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Color : Amber to mahogany
Flavour : Rich fruits flavor supported by delicat spice & tobocco notes, raisins
Palate : Silky, med-bodied, dry & rich

Little bit too overpriced

Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 509 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Schönes klares Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase tiefe satte Holztöne. Du stehst im tiefen dunklen Wald, um Dich herum liegen mit dem Beil gefällte Eichen, Buchen und Lärchen, das Nachmittags Feuer der Holzfäller ist soeben Erloschen. Aus der Ferne ziehen Düfte von Toffee, Karamell, Schokolade und wilden tropischen Früchten vorbei.
Am Gaumen zart und geschmeidig. Herbe holzige Noten von Gewürzen und Kräuter aus dem Wald treffen auf liebliche Karamell und Blumen. Harze, Tannine, Kardamom, Sternanis, Fenchelsamen, Farnwurzeln, Liebstöckel, zart gebrannter Zuckerrohr Sirup und kandierte Früchte sind nur einige Aromen die in einer langen Schlange auf Dich warten.
Im Abgang ziehen sich Holz, Karamell und Schokolade dahin, ganz am Schluss bleibt etwas Salz zurück.
Ein praktisch ungesüsster Rum der Freude macht. Für Kenner und Geniesser. -9
-2cl Muster-

Beautiful clear amber in the glass.
In the nose deep rich wood tones. You are standing in the deep dark forest, around you are axed oak, beech and larch, the afternoon fire of the lumberjacks has just gone out. From afar, scents of toffee, caramel, chocolate and wild tropical fruit drift by.
Delicate and smooth on the palate. Tart woody notes of spices and herbs from the forest meet lovely caramel and flowers. Resins, tannins, cardamom, star anise, fennel seeds, fern roots, lovage, delicately burnt sugar cane syrup and candied fruits are just a few flavors waiting in a long line for you.
In the finish, wood, caramel and chocolate drag on, with some salt remaining at the very end.
A practically unsweetened rum that gives pleasure. For connoisseurs and connoisseurs. -9
-2cl sample-

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 332 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

It’s good but not exceptional in any way.
Quite weak nose and afterburn.
It got it’s rating because of the smooth and quite complex taste in mouth.
So I’m not sure it’s pricewhorty.
I will buy me Bottles of Seleccion the Maestros and Union in near future and compere them.
———————————————————————————————————————————
Now I have tasted the Seleccion de Maestros and I must say that the 15yo is not really pricewhorty to a price three doubled the SdM. It’s of course better cause it’s smoother and doesn’t taste as much alcohol as the SdM. So I won’t change my rating.
I will in a short time compere it with the Union.
Picture: My Cuban shelf.

Marc-André 🇨🇦 | 29 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Souvent mal comprise, la maison Havana Club produit des rhums de très grande qualités qui diffèrent de la plupart des grandes maisons commerciales.

Sans grosse melasse ou saveurs ajoutées, le Havana club 15 ans n'a rien à envier à ses cousins "pimpé" des Caraïbes.

Raisins sec, petits fruits au nez.
Caramel salé, fût de chêne, petite note de porto en bouche.

D'une grande élégance malgré qu'on en demande un peu trop cher pour avoir le plaisir de le déguster.

ja.viper 🇨🇿 | 18 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This is the second bottle I bring from visiting Cuba.
Not so smooth as Havana union but still have a special place in my rum Cabinet, because I start exploring Rum world with Havana club rums in general.
Taste is a little bit strong but closer to the typical taste of rum on Cuba

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2929 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Havana Club 15 year is available from most airport tax free shops and makes a pretty decent buy, but the flavor profile is not really bringing out any clear flavors, but the experience is a mixture of a lot of flavors. The most disappointing fact is a very strong afterburn, which shouldn't be there for such a classy manufacturer of aged rums. 15 year is more expensive than the Seleccion de Maestros and has a stronger burn at the end.

Pavelitti 🇨🇭 | 42 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Questo 15 anni è molto piacevole, il sapore è ben bilanciato. Non c'è paragone con il 7 anni. Peccato che si deve spendere troppo per un buon Havana

Kent 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

A colleague bought me a glass of Havana Club 15 year (over a single rock) while in the United Kingdom for work. My first glass of a true rum (versus the standard Bacardi and Coke at a bar or party).

I was never one to drink any liquor straight and I was skeptical of drinking it but I grew to enjoy it more and more after each sip. While it was a hand full of years ago I do recall its smoothness and lack of expected afterburn (even though there was some burn). I really enjoyed it.

There's not much more to say other than it led me into the world of rum. My first time as they say. We cannot purchase it here in the States but I would certainly like to come across it in my travels again some day. See if it was as enjoyable as the first time.