Aldea 2006 Maestro rum

Aldea 2006 Maestro

Spain | Aged

6.1/10
27 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
11
8
1

Rate Aldea 2006 Maestro

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

27 Aldea 2006 Maestro ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 324 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Had just a sample for this tasting so it’s just a first impression, but I will not dig deeper into it.
This Spanish rum distilled by the Distillery of Ron Aldea in the Canary Islands uses locally produced sugar cane juice, but I don’t get any feeling it all of Agricole.
It’s distilled in 2006 in a pot still, aged for 10 years in ex Bourbon oak barrels and bottled in 2016 at ABV 40%.
The dominating aroma and flavor is vanilla, but I also recognize burnt sugar, grass and lots of spices especially during the finish that’s relatively short.
Picture: My Emptied Sample.

Oliver 🇪🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Yesterday I bought a bottel of Aldea Maestro. It comes in a bottle thats nicer than most premium brands. Has a nice colour and it havig several less aged rums below it, it is one of the supposedly better rums of the brand (above this are only familia and tradición, below there is the reserva, the 8 year and the añejo). After opening the bottle strong alcohol smell kicks hard. First I tried to drink it just on ice but no way. For me it had only alchol presence, I was not able to taste more different things in it (maybe the alcohol presence was to hard for me to notice more, maybe there was nothing more). It is very simple and not mild at all (considering it has 10 years eventhough the label does not mention it, but the reserva below has 10 years and the familia 15, so it should have 10 or even 12, on the net it is offered as 10 years).
Then I mixed it in a Cuba Libre as it is not sweet at all, what I consider good for Cuba Libre. It is half way to dry I would say. The Cuba Libre was acceptable but strong, and far far away from rums that bring other flavours into it.
I'm definitely keeping the bottle (removing labels) and will refill it once it is empty with other stuff. The bottle has one of the best designs of all. For the price I paid here in the canary islands (20 euro) I consider it far to expensive compared to other rums you get at this price here. Maybe the familia and tradicion are better, but if the entry premium rum of this brand has nothing to offer, Aldea lost the chance of waking up my interest in buying one of the two more aged rums. Maybe if I see the other rums at a bar, I'll give them a try, but buying an entire bottle again, I don't think so. What a pitty havind such nice bottles

Teis Madsen 🇩🇰 | 114 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

en ok rom, men ikke noget prangende. Der findes mange bedre til samme pris

Henrikhaa 🇩🇰 | 43 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

It is an ok rum. But nothing fancy nor interesting about it. Spend your money on other bottles instead.

Jason 🇺🇸 | 123 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

The most notable aroma/flavor is vanilla, but also notes of burnt sugar, spices, and some flavors I can’t put my finger on. Some of these flavors carry over, especially during the short finish.

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 371 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

I received a tasting kit today promised several months ago. I’m having to guess what they are, strange mish mash of pieces and parts from old kits as I see Stephan rated this a year ago. My bottle just says 18 with no tasting cards or anything to determine which Ron Aldea Maestro it is. It’s an ok rum but the tasting experience is leaving a bad taste on me.

Hedlund 🇸🇪 | 22 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

En rom. Typ inget mer. Lite whiskey, bra eftersmak. Inget att hänga i granen

M. Geisser 🇨🇭 | 43 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

It‘s an okay rum.
Would have been more fun if it was more complex but easy enjoyable after all.

Bassdscho92 🇦🇹 | 12 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

It's alright. Sweet, not very special. Certainly a well crafted rum, but nothing to spend hours of nosing and searching for fine or subtle aromas. Easy sipping

Harrie 🇳🇱 | 91 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Apart from alcohol very closed and even after 10 minutes the scent was strong but the notes still timid if that makes any sense. Another 10 minutes later there is fudge, leather, a little spice and some oak. On the palate there is also a fruitish note and the leather remains entangled with the oak.

It is a dry(ish) rum (which I consider good) with not much complexity for a 10yo but all in all not bad though a bit harsh. Taste is gone rather quickly with a little bitter aftertaste. Most certainly drinkable but a bit expensive for what this is.