Diplomatico Planas rum

Diplomatico Planas

Venezuela | Light | Pot Still Distilled

5.9/10
65 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
16
20
17
4

Rate Diplomatico Planas

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

65 Diplomatico Planas ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

JohnyBazooka 🇨🇿 | 58 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Tak tady asi není moc co rozebírat je to rum snad vytvořený pro míchané drinky.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 516 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

I read that this was replacing the Diplomatico Blanco, so I thought I'd try them both side by side with the hopes that this would be at least as good as that. It's close, but I slightly prefer the Blacno.

This is a tad less sweet than the Blanco and it's 47%abv rather than 40%. I read it was intended as a mixer. Not a bad business decision, as their Reserva is far better if you like straight rum. But I rate rums straight, and I slightly prefer the Blanco, so I'll give that the edge. Still, this is very good, and I believe this would make a great mixer.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 324 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Tasted it while at a short trip with Viking Line from Sweden to Åland when the Swedish importer was onboard and offered it.
In nose as well on the palate it’s lots of citrus, but you can also taste butter, mint and some toffee. The afterburn is quite short with soft spices.
It has a balanced sweetness, not nearly as sweet as the Reserva Exclusiva. So for me it’s an easy choice to choose this one before the DRE. I think it will fit well in cocktails, cause it will be noticed.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2925 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Enjoyed a bottle of Diplomatico Planas while in London. Nice bottle and label design. Floral notes and coconut straight to your nose and palate. Quite a kick at the end. The Planas is not meant to be a neat sipper rum.

Terence 🇲🇾 | 56 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Minty with peachy citrus aroma. Smells of coconut flesh with hint of sweetness from coconut water. Complement with buttery oak aroma.
Buttery mouth feel which provide a body to it. Coconut flesh flavour, nutty almond, hint of cedar wood but balance with good tartness.
Clean and medium length finishing. Grassy notes with alcohol minty-ness.

Tim 🇨🇦 | 80 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Your daiquiri would love this Venezuelan white. Perhaps a bit sweet vs dry? Lower your sugar syrup to taste.

Alkin 🇱🇻 | 44 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Quite nice on the nose coconut and chocolate, very good in cocktails.

Bstayer 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Nice flavor, but has a harsher aftertaste as compared to Reserva Exclusiva. Would still recommend for sipping.

daveyjones 🇦🇺 | 22 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

its punchy and sweet. Delicious neat.
Great on ice but whats really nice is enjoying the way that this rum plays with citrus.
I feel like the chocolatey finish does something great to a daiquiri which is really different without being over exuberant as some characterful white rums can.
I have it sitting next to the reserva and guess what? The planas gets the guernsey most times.

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 448 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I have held off for months in trying this replacement for their Blanco. However, after reading enough of these reviews which mentioned notes of coconut, the 47% ABV, and it really being a gold rum aged for six years and then filtered to remove the color, I gave it a try at $29 US. I don't detect notes of coconut, but this one can indeed be sipped neat. Not many white rums can make this claim. It would also be a great mixer, allowing for rum flavors to come through without over powering the drink. I also have it rated as a good buy.

Herman 🇺🇸 | 103 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

We tried this at the NYC Rum Fest, and found it surprisingly smooth for a white rum, so we bought a bottle at Astor Wines. It does have a stronger alcohol nose than others, due to the 47% ABV.




Brand Details

Name: Planas
Company: Diplomatico
Type: Light
Distillation: Pot Still

Loading

Professional Reviews

Articles

Loading

Loading

Loading