Diplomatico Mantuano rum

Diplomatico Mantuano

Venezuela | Aged

6.5/10
297 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
29
112
100
38
7

Rate Diplomatico Mantuano

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

297 Diplomatico Mantuano ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Simson 🇨🇿 | 79 ratings

I had the opportunity to taste Diplomatico Mantuano at a celebration recently. If you haven't tried it yet and would like to compare it with e.g. Diplomatico Reserva Exlusiva (RE), here are a few observations:

1) Colour - I would say it's the same for both, although it seems to me that the Mantuano is a little darker.
2) Smell - Mantuano is more smelling of alcohol (some kind of spirits), which is probably due to a little less ripeness. The rest of the smell is similar to RE. In my opinion, the aroma is dominated by dried fruits (plums).
3) Taste - this is probably the most important thing for everyone. After the first sip, it first occurred to me that it was so "thinned/diluted". RE is more dense after drinking. Mantuano is so called "watery". It's also a little sharper than RE, but over time it calms down and by the end the taste is not so different compared to RE. Mantuano is also a little less sweet.

To sum it up, Mantuano seems to me like 2nd quality of RE. Is it worth paying extra money for RE? The price difference is approx. 300 CZK (12 EUR). Personally, I prefer to pay the extra money.

Overall rating: 6,5 from 10

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mr.B 🇬🇧 | 70 ratings

Sweet on the nose. Pretty balanced without being overly sweet. It's nice but nothing special

Posted over 3 years ago by FerPaard 🇳🇱 | 14 ratings

Powerful rum, more sour tones than f.e. zacapa 23. Much stronger mouthfeeling, darker tones here than zacapa or Don Q gran Anejo. Sweet, cane-like. Still nice for me personally.

Posted over 4 years ago by DiNiko 🇬🇷 | 41 ratings

Very interesting.
Was wondering how exclusiva would taste if only you could somehow remove the extra sweetness...
Now I know and I can confirm it's good.
Missing the complexity as well...
Overall decent.

Posted 5 years ago by Jan Staněk 🇨🇿 | 121 ratings

It still has an intense alcohol flavour. Probably it needs some time to settle down a bit. But in this price range it is reasonable.

Posted over 1 year ago by David 🇪🇸 | 19 ratings

My favourite, together with Pampero Aniversario. Seems like venezuelan aged rums are my favourites. Santa Teresa I would use for paint removal, though.

Posted over 3 years ago by Dave 🇬🇧 | 10 ratings

Beautifully smooth rum, perfect for sipping over ice. (I keep mine in the freezer).

Posted over 3 years ago by Stijn 🇧🇪 | 13 ratings

Almost as good as the reserve, but I like the reserva a little bit more

Posted 4 years ago by Alejandro 🇪🇸 | 22 ratings

Sweet but not too much, strong alcohol sensation on the nose. Cheap.

Posted 2 months ago by Peter 🇸🇪 | 45 ratings

God med mycket smak som tar slut lite för fort, Stark men med en viss sötma. jag smakar ingen spritsmak.

Posted 4 months ago by shindler 🇵🇱 | 34 ratings

It took me some time to decide how to rate this Diplomatico or Botucal (name it as you want). It sweet, there's some vanilia, carmel. Both in aroma and taste, but quite flat or subtle - to be honest I really don't know. There's a little bit of wood in the smell... But that's it. Nothing special, nothing unusual. For this price (20€) I would say: acceptable




Brand Details

Name: Mantuano
Company: Diplomatico
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Articles

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2912
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514