Beenleigh Double Barrel 5-Year rum

Beenleigh Double Barrel 5-Year

Australia | Aged

6.6/10
9 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
1

Rate Beenleigh Double Barrel 5-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

9 Beenleigh Double Barrel 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Martin Kennedy πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 224 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

This is a very nice locally made rum here in Queensland. Made from molasses and distilled in both ex brandy and charred bourbon barrels for 5 years. They even use their own home grown yeast !
Has one of the best noses of any rum i've tried. Toffee , caramel and a kind of spicey citrus.
Sips beautifully , on its own or with an ice cube. Unfortunately its not a very good mixer , the citrus taste which is like a spicey marmalade , doesn't blend well... sort of like Pyrat XO. Will tour the Distillery in the near future and try some of the up market rums !

mitch πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 5 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Purchas price is reasonable and taste is pretty good. Great flavors throughout with what seems like a hint of vanilla. I would definitely buy this rum agai

Josifiend πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 21 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Chuck it in a Mai Tai! For a rum that's pretty cheap in Australia it's much more 'Rum like' than the core Bundy range. It's got enough body and true grit for a lot of cocktails.

Jaycee πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 41 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Pleasant but something missing. Maybe too much caramel? I would buy again but only on special.

Vincent πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 38 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Better than your average buddy, but I find this a bit pungent and faux.

Sykes024 πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 45 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I like it but they have added extra sugar better than Bundaberg really vanilla caramel oak tones to this but again the too much sugar comes through for real rum lovers

Damon Shurville πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 14 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I normally avoid Australian Rums, Bundaberg in particular as I find them too harsh and basic for my taste. Apparently this is a common feeling with Europeans and when i recently toured the Bundaberg distillery they even said their rum wasnt refined enough for the European palate and most of their rum was bought by Aussies here and when on holiday abroad.

Anyway, back to Beenleigh. i was at a bar in Sydney and explained to the Barman the sort of Rums I liked and he suggested I try this. Very nice, smooth, clean flavour and not too sweet for a spiced rum. Another bottle added to the rotation of my collection :-)

Paul πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 143 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Once again an aussie drink shines through
Nice bottle and great smell to the drink
It is a a powerful drink but sutle to the palate and you shud buy one asap

Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2929 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Enjoyed some Beenleigh 5y Double Barrel Rum while vacationing in Melbourne. Pretty nice bottle and label design. Golden color. Pure alcohol, oak, citrus and mild toffee to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong and dry burn at the end. Mix it up and down it goes.