Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum

Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Bermuda | Aged

Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum is crafted in Bermuda from the same blend as Gosling Black Seal but is aged longer in dark barrels. Each bottle is hand-labelled and numbered.

7.8/10
215 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
20
51
62
54
17

Rate Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

215 Gosling's Family Reserve Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Althaur (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

First, my nose and palate can’t sense all of the nuances some others can. That being said, I enjoyed this. After it sat in the glass for a bit, it had a nice smell that reminds me of maple syrup, similar to some other rums I really like. It had a pleasant taste, not too sweet, not too sharp. I had a wonderful after taste of oak. It went surprisingly well with my snack of salami, aged cheddar, and garlic stuffed olives on the deck.

DonRon 🇩🇪 | 14 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Gosling's Family Reserve is a blend from Bermuda. It comes from the same barrels as the Black Seal but is aged up to 16 years.
It has a very complex spicy nose which is really intense. It can literally fill the whole room.
Gosling's Family Reserve comes in a nice wax sealed and hand numbered bottle. It is very complex and combines a little sweetness with nuances of wood. It has spices, dried fruit, chocolate and tobacco and is very well balanced; soft all the way.
I was lucky to get my one for only $60 in Chicago and can only recommend to give it a try. You won't regret it.

LarsF 🇸🇪 | 39 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

A nice champagne bottle with wax and a steel band around it. Each bottle has its own number. The rum comes in a nice wooden box. High class in the presentation (picture).

This rum have to rest in the glass for a bit. At first it´s a lot of oak but when the rum rests in the glass you get sweet aroma with caramel, raisins and spice.

The taste is spice and a bit sweet. I expected it to be sweeter. The finish is long and mild. This rum really have to rest in the glass before you drink it.

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

The only Gosling's rum available locally is Gosling's Black Seal and frankly I was not all that impressed with it. I've read the hype and felt it didn't come close to living up to it. I can across the Gosling's Family Reserve rum at Dorignac's grocery store in New Orleans and decided to get a bottle to try. I am finally getting around to sampling it.

First a word on the presentation...this is old school at its finest. The deep green glass champagne bottle is sealed with a thick black wax which includes a wide pull band to help unseal the wax. Each bottle is label with its own bottle number (mine is 5867/14) and is placed in a straw-filled wooden box. Homage to the old school.

Pouring the rum into a snifter revealed just how dark this rum is. Almost like new motor oil (and I do NOT mean that in any negative way -- just that the hue is a rich, dark brown of a type reminding me of how certain motor oils look). The aroma is sharp and crisp revealing a pepperiness that becomes apparent on the initial flavor. Some sweetness along with the peppery sting and a buttery texture. There clearly are other flavors but the pepperiness obscures them too much for me to detect what they are (others with more refined palates than mine will have to chime in). Some oak tones as well but mild. The finish is a bit dry and the oak stays with you. Very smooth with not a burn but a nice warmth that is far from overbearing. Personally I would not choose this as a sipping rum but it definitely qualifies as one. It's not for everyone but it is a pretty good rum. I know I may ruffle some feathers but even though this is a premium rum I like it quite well in Coke Zero. The pepperiness complements the Coke Zero flavor making for a unique combination. Add a little lime and you've got an awfully good Cuba Libre. But at approximately $70 (USD) a bottle it's kind of an expensive Cuba Libre.

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 254 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

A cool bottle, that contains something that, to me, feels a little bit like a spiced rum. The nose is a little oaky and bittersweet, with dominant notes of cloves. The taste is kinda special. It contains a healty dose of slightly bitter barrel notes and hints of dates and allspice. Unfortunately not really to my liking.

Paul Hübscher 🇨🇭 | 69 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Very dark complexion. Not much in the nose - except vanilla and tobacco. This rum needs time to develop its taste. It is then full of tobacco, oak and dark chocolate. Aftertaste: a lot of dark chocolate. I like this kind of rum, but can understand if it is not to everybodys taste.

Andrewofcalgary 🇨🇦 | 162 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Lovely dark rum that is smooth, sweet, molasses with a hint of citrus and honey. Id buy again.

Andreasx 🇨🇦 | 25 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

This one had a great color when I poured it into my glass. It is pleasant on the nose with a little edge. Initial taste on the tongue is strong and rich with some heat. The pleasant flavour and heat last long into the aftertaste. I tried this one neat and it was very good.

Shane Conner 🇨🇦 | 11 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Aged well, and very smooth. Nice caramel flavour. Definitely a top shelf. Over ice is the best

Michael Huff 🇺🇸 | 100 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

It's really pretty good. Not the brice I'd like for how it tastes, but they have to have at least one high end product.

Very very dark color, strong oak tones mix well with the usual black seal flavors for a more mature and strong mouth feel.
While it stands ok on its own, it pairs perfectly with dark chocolate. Highly recommend a nice dark bar with a glass of this.

Chris 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Amazingly, I found a bar that had about a half dozens sipping rums on its rack. A guy at the bar identified this rum as his favorite among them. This is a very good rum, very smooth, little or no burn. However, its price point is its downfall and I deducted a point for it. It is not 30 dollars better than my favorite rum. The bar owner said it had jumped so much in price lately that he would not continue to stock it. Apparently, their desire to go up market could hurt their sales.




Brand Details

Name: Family Reserve Old
Company: Gosling's
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading