loading

Gosling's Family Reserve Old rum

Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Bermuda | Aged | 40.0% ABV

7.7/10
227 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
6
21
54
67
56
18

Rate Gosling's Family Reserve Old

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

227 Gosling's Family Reserve Old ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Corneliusl 🇳🇴 | 89 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Coffee, chocolate, caramel and chili on the nose.
Maple syrup, coffee, cocoa and dill on the palate.

Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) 🇸🇪 | 424 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Fantastic package from Bermuda’s only rum company.
It’s very dark and the aroma is very complex with its Christmas spices, caramel and some oak. The taste is a little sharp and a lot like the aroma plus some plums, I believe.

Pascal 🇨🇦 | 216 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Un goût de chêne, vanille et de caramel. Un peu épicé, poivré mais très doux. Un final très longue et complexe. Un peu cher mais la qualité est la.

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

My purveyor sells this for just over $50.00 which makes this an excellent rum. At the estimated $86 it's still an excellent rum but lacking in a few things. First is the ABV, I would really like to try it at 42-43% rather than 40. Another thing would be the packaging. I really do not need a wooden box with a plexiglass slip front and a rope handle. Extra expense that just gets tossed out.

Whats inside the bottle is really good stuff. Tons of wood and the spit of residual bourbon. Big nose that invites perpetual sniffing. Not overly sugary which is always a good thing with aged rums. Maybe a tad thin on the tongue which is one of the reasons I'de like to see this less diluted.

If you find the likes of Centenario 25 too sweet as I do and your looking for an aged sipping rum, if the price is right Gosling's Old Rum is a great choice to try at least once.

Nathan 🇬🇧 | 35 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Quite a unique taste, I always wondered how people got chocolate from tasting rum, but that's the first thing that I noticed with this. Nice dark mahogany colour, interesting flavours and good aroma. Top marks for presentation. Worth having.

andy 🇨🇦 | 1 rating
Posted over 6 years ago

spent a lot of time in bermuda so drinking the standard black seal rum was a very regular habit. this one takes all those flavours, mellows out the alcohol and is much richer and smoother. could drink this and only this forever

Filip 🇸🇪 | 84 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

A personal favorite that I always enjoy smelling, sipping and savoring.

Michael Regular 🇨🇦 | 36 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Like the label and webpage says, this is indeed a very well defined rum. Wonderful flavor and aroma.Everyone needs to try this one. It was especially nice served over some North Atlantic Iceberg.

Jonny Olsson 🇸🇪 | 162 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

The bottle with the box is super nice! Exclusive touch! You need to let it brieth for at least 20 minutes to become better. The taste us peppar and I also feel the bitternes that I have not felt before. Should be in the coolection and especially testing different Rum products.

Rob 🇮🇪 | 92 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Very unique rum. Smells like burned sugar and fruit. This is also present in the taste. First sip was a bit harsh, but the 2nd sip onwards was really nice to sip on. My palette is not advanced enough to describe all the different flavors, but this is something special alright.
Big step up from the regular Black Seal, which is a decent mixer. Gave this one an 8, but is very close to a 9. Might upgrade after a few more glasses.

Erik Lööf 🇸🇪 | 10 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

One of the best bottles. A Nice dark rhum with lots of dried fruits in the aroma.

A real sipper with taste of caramell, oak and spicy one of the best I have tasted




Brand Details

Name: Family Reserve Old
Company: Gosling's
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading