Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.4/10
475 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
13
16
55
113
167
87
14
6

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

475 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 years ago by Jaybird ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 48 ratings

I've been enjoying Black Seal for some years. As with most I first had in a Dark and Stormy, but it's so much more!

I find it's a great mixing rum to blend with other rums in exotic cocktails to create some complexity and a nice depth of rum flavor. Pleasing smooth aroma of sweet molasses and caramel, some alcohol and vanilla as well. Nice flavor of molasses with hints of vanilla and caramel. Not hot but pleasantly warm. Smooth medium finish lingers nicely. A really good rum at a price that's hard to argue with.

This is a highly recommended rum to those that enjoy experimenting with different rum blends and for trying a different rum in mixed cocktails that you've always enjoyed but that you may be looking for a little tweak to.

I also enjoy pouring a couple of ounces in a snifter and sipping neat once in a while. It's a pleasant rum with plenty of flavor to enjoy and smooth on the palate. It's not a world class sipper but it is an all around good rum that's agreeable to many uses. Not an 8 but better than a 7 in my mind, I give it a solid 7.5. Enjoy!

Posted over 6 years ago by LarsF ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 39 ratings

I was full of expectation when I bought Botran Solera 1893 Gran Reserva.

The smell is sweet with caramel and fruit. Some sticky alcohol too but that goes away after a few minutes in the glass.

The taste is sweet but it is too much spice and barrel for my taste. I expected it to be sweeter.

The aftertaste is long with spices and barrel. In my taste this is a blender that goes well in drinks and with cola. I donยดt think itยดs good as a sipper.

Posted 4 years ago by Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2923 ratings

Vacationing in Acapulco and tasting Botran Solera 1893 18y and Matusalem Gran Reserva 18y back-to-back. Botran has a pretty decent bottle design and high end sturdy box which reminds me of good quality single malt whisky boxes. Color is semi dark with oak intruding both nose and palate. Some burn at the end, but rather mild. This is the best rum Botran has to offer. Matusalem 5 - Botran 7.

Posted 6 years ago by Nicholas Miller ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 75 ratings

It's nothing atypical of a rum. It's a very standard oaked vanilla rum with a lot of cinnamon/allspice in the back. Horrible straight. It acts like a nice guy in front of your girlfriend and then secretly tries to steal her when you're not expecting it. Basically it enters the mouth pretty smoothly and then a second or 2 later rains down like hell fire on your tongue, roof of mouth and back of throat. You must ice this one at a minimum or add cola. It makes a good rum and coke but for the price no thank you. I got this from a friend on a trip to mexico because it isn't sold in the states here. I would recommend cruzan gold over this. Very very similar, the only thing you might notice is the 40$ or you just saved.

Posted over 6 years ago by Nicoakr ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท | 106 ratings

It's a very good rum, not too sweet like many rums of the region. Nose I got lot of caramel and dry fruits. Mouth is more mineral which I like but I think lacks of something to get a better rating, in that price range.

Posted almost 8 years ago by mamajuana ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 148 ratings

This is a very nice rum. It uses wine casks as part of the solera. Intensely smooth no burn at all. No funky taste or harshness or overpowering notes. This is a great blend and I highly recommend this to anyone. The price point is amazing for this quality. Could easily drink an entire bottle of this in one sitting.

Posted 3 months ago by Nielf ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 183 ratings

Denne rom er smagt til whiskymesse 2022 i Kolding.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Neman3 ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 154 ratings

Tonight, this is the game of two grandfathers (in the same price range stadium).
First goal scored by Botran: it is classic Solera. Good balance between dry and sweet. Charming spicyness.
Then there was massive attack of AN. 3:1 in 5 minutes.
Absolutely delicious, authentic. Naturally sweet, still fine smoky.
Both did not play fair on nose: two yellow cards for Botran, one for AN.
Both are worth the money and got into a playoff of the best drinks.

P.s. this is my first stuff (and staff) from Guatemala. Next team - Angostura.

Posted 2 years ago by LeoTheFinn ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ | 2 ratings

Paired yet again with the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. This is a very pleasant rum as well. Not quite there with the Bristol's Jamaican 8yo though, but close. The smokiness of burned Salazar, the saltiness of Davy Jones & the sweetness of Elizabeth. Then the aged rum breath of Jack & Gibbs, fruitiness of Cannibal Island & the exotic touch of monkey Jack. Ending with the smoothness of Will without the bitter kick of Barbossa. Aye to that I say! Cheers!

Posted over 3 years ago by Erik Marum ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 40 ratings

My first experience with this was at a new year's party when someone brought this. I was curious and tried it. Loved it. Shocked it was a rum and have been into high quality sipping rums over whiskey ever since. This is such a nice balance of deep caramel and a touch of spice that leans towards a molasses flavor but just hints at it. I'm not a fan of molasses heavy rums and this gets right up to the edge for me but doesn't cross over into the heavy molasses flavors. This I can down neat or on the rocks. It's not the smootest, but the burn is pretty mild. The flavors are heavy up front and the finish is very slight and relatively lasting. This is a solid choice for whatever your purpose. Sip or mix it will go down well.

Posted over 3 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 318 ratings

This Solera Ron with distillate between 5 and 18 years old has a well balanced sweetness. In your nose you can feel oak, vanilla and caramel but also dried fruit. Then in your mouth you can together with above mentioned also feel some orange, I believe.
Itโ€™s also quite complex and a good budget priced Ron.




Brand Details

Name: Black Seal
Company: Gosling's
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2923
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
546
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514