Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.4/10
483 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
13
17
55
116
171
87
14
6

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

483 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

PapaKielbasa 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Dark N' Stormy has to Goslings Black Seal. I wish it were higher proof though.

Shane 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

If you like dark & stormys with Myers you'll like Black Seal. Very similar.....not anything I'd drink neat or without a mixer.

Giuseppe 🇮🇹 | 33 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

english style, a final persistent, smooth....

forrest loftis 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Expected more from Bermuda's oldest rum. Bit to harsh and dry for my sipping taste. I would only use it in mixed drinks. A 6 for me.

Tikihead 🇺🇸 | 23 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Black Seal is a great all around rum for mixing and reasonably priced. Great in a Dark 'N Stormy. I like it better than Myers dark rum.

Scott T 🇺🇸 | 122 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Nice balance of sweet, funk, and molasses. Although this is not supposed to be a spiced rum, it could pass for a very good one. My favorite mixing rum.

OmegaP 🇫🇷 | 12 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

On the smell we can find some vanilla and fruit (close to plum smell) and the taste is similare.

Not a great rum but a nice one and better for mixed drinks.

ps: the 1st bottle I buy (and drink) had a mono smell and taste of liquorice. I don't know if the flavor change alot from each bottle or not.

james peters 🇬🇧 | 6 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This is the prefect rum for someone to move on to from the standard rums out there (think of Lamb's etc etc). It works well straight up, on the rocks on mixed and doesn't break the bank

Amalas 🇺🇸 | 69 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Way too molasses-y and not well rounded. Leaves a kind of sticky residue in your mouth. Good dark fruit flavor though. Will not buy again.

Steven James 🇬🇧 | 33 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Initially there are enticing aromas of caramel and burnt sugar. There is also an almost fruity sweetness that reminds me of baked apples which is followed by warm caramel. The rum is not too sweet. I can taste caramel, burnt sugar and butterscotch with just a tiny hint of bitterness. The rum is quite dry with a light spice. A must for mixing with ginger beer.

BerodeQuentin 🇫🇷 | 40 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Color : Dark mahogany
Flavour : Treacle, ripped fruits, spices like caramel & cumin, toffee
Palate : Soft & gentle but rich, clean finish

It's THE rum to use to do a Dark n' Stormy (official Bermuda drink), a must to have in your cabinet...




Brand Details

Name: Black Seal
Company: Gosling's
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading