Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.4/10
483 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
13
17
55
116
171
87
14
6

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

483 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Bamboleo 🇩🇪 | 21 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

folks over at gosling's were smart to trademark the dark and stormy to market their rum because this artificially flavoured rum is mediocre at best.

Bnballison2 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Nice aroma, robust, I like the lasting mouth feel, a great black rum, nice for sipping.

Bluegoose 🇳🇿 | 9 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Just got this to give the original dark and stormy a go. Quite nice

geroji 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Probably makes a decent mixer and not super pleasant sipped. It’s a good introduction rum, so and it does have a decent flavor.

Djgross144 🇺🇸 | 56 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I know that this is the official rum for a Dark and Stormy. Usually pass over this rum in favor of others, but pickings were slim at the store so I gave it a try.
It is great in a Dark and Stormy, but also a decent sipper neat. Used it for rum balls too yum.

Dcorn1973 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This is not the best rum in the barrel but it's not the worst. Not a sipper but good for mixing. I doubt I ever buy a bottle again, but the idea of to try different rums and experience the world.

LRWOZ 🇦🇺 | 1 rating
Posted over 1 year ago

I like black rums. I like the rums (and whiskeys) that have a bit aging to them to the character of the oak and the barrel’s predecessors in the flavour and finish. Gosfords Black Seal is one I keep on hand for sipping and the off Dark & Stormy for my wife. What I particularly like about for drinking neat, molasses. You can taste it’s roots. Rum is not port, sherry, bourbon or others, and while their old barrels add a layer of complexity, what I get on the finish with Goslings is a memory of its dark treacly base that reminds me this bad boy came from sugar cane. Really like it. Is it as complex as Bundy Solera or an old Plantation? But for what it is, it’s bloody good. A Proper Rum Portion matey.....

RumBech 🇩🇰 | 14 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Great with Ginger beer 🍺
Perfect as a cocktail................

Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 537 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Ve vůni i v chutí převažuje typické Goslings koření, karamel, částečně nasládlé, příjemné překvapení poměr cena výkon

Hot_Toddy 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

This is a proper dark. A step up from Myers and Kraken, but a step down from Hamilton Jamaican Pot Still. Good taste and value, not too hard to find, either.

jbuckhead 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Appearance dark brownish red. Nice green around the edges from the aging. Initially smells like curry, with lime and vanilla. Tastes sweet and caramely with a hint of maple syrup. Lime comes through on the initial finish, transitioning to something more bitter on the lingering finish. Also tastes bit of tobacco on the finish, which gets stronger the more I drink. Slight creamy mouthfeel. Overall not bad for mixing.




Brand Details

Name: Black Seal
Company: Gosling's
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading