Posting your rating...
Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.5/10
459 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
13
16
50
107
165
85
14
5

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

459 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Costas T from Greece with 1 rating

Great Rum for cockteila like "dark & shadow", I just love this Rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by BlackP2 from United States with 12 ratings

I bought this brand awhile ago after reading about the origins of the "Dark & Stormy". As call rum and good ginger ale is one of my favorites, thought I would give it a go. Not again even if you're buying. I've never tasted motor oil but have to say I think it would be something like this. I'll have to ask Dominic Greene. Also tried their canned ginger ale mixer, don't it's packed with corn fructose.

Posted over 6 years ago by MnChuck from United States with 14 ratings

This is the rum I use for my dark 'n stormys. It does a great job, but also one I can sip on the rocks if I don't feel like a cocktail. I always have a bottle of this on hand,

Posted almost 7 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 206 ratings

Sugar: 11 gpl. My first review of this rum was from my Rum and Coke days. Having moved away from that stage when this rum was a "headache in a bottle" I recently tried this in a Bermuda Twizzle and everyone loved it. I was not going to buy this rum again as a sipper, but as a mixer it is very good in mixed drinks such as Hurricanes, Mai Tais, Swizzles, etc. At $25 a bottle in Canada it is a great deal.

Posted almost 7 years ago by nomad from United States with 133 ratings

The obvious Dark n Stormy mixer, but nice with coke or ginger ale too. Smooth for an inexpensive rum. Plays well with sweeter mixes as well.

edited to add sugar test results- 11g

Posted over 9 years ago by AndyD603 from United States with 4 ratings

A very sweet dark. Usually drink this on the rocks with ice however it does fine with soda.

Posted at The Sail Pavilion 1 month ago by Oggiedog from United States with 10 ratings

Gosling’s is the go-to for dark rum. The infamous dark and stormy wouldn’t be the same without it! A great mixer, primary or stand alone rum. There are better rums out there, but for the price and the flexibility of this dark rum, it’s a must have.

Posted 7 months ago by Rip from Canada with 13 ratings

It’s an ok rum as a mixer, I’ll give it credit for that. Definitely had that dark rum molasses flavour profile. FDC 5year is a similar price and better as a mixer in my opinion.
Most of the higher rated rums on this app are for higher quality and often more expensive ‘sippers’. This rum is not a ‘sipper’, but will be just fine for many to mix with their preferred drink.

Posted 10 months ago by Weglin from Poland with 15 ratings

Porządny karaibski rum do drinków. Ciężki czuc słodyc. Nie jest to rum do degustacji lecz smakuje porządnie. Dużo lepszy od podstawowych pozycji.

Posted 1 year ago by Bnballison2 from United States with 4 ratings

Nice aroma, robust, I like the lasting mouth feel, a great black rum, nice for sipping.

Posted 1 year ago by Bluegoose from New Zealand with 9 ratings

Just got this to give the original dark and stormy a go. Quite nice