Gosling's Black Seal rum

Gosling's Black Seal

Bermuda | Dark

The James Gosling family business first produced Gosling Black Seal rum in 1806, and it is now the oldest surviving business on the island of Burmuda.

Gosling 'Black Seal' rum received it's name from the black wax originally used to seal the bottles. It is Bermuda's most widely exported product and considered the nation's national drink.

6.4/10
483 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
13
17
55
116
171
87
14
6

Rate Gosling's Black Seal

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

483 Gosling's Black Seal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

PapaKielbasa 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Dark N' Stormy has to Goslings Black Seal. I wish it were higher proof though.

BlackP2 🇺🇸 | 12 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

I bought this brand awhile ago after reading about the origins of the "Dark & Stormy". As call rum and good ginger ale is one of my favorites, thought I would give it a go. Not again even if you're buying. I've never tasted motor oil but have to say I think it would be something like this. I'll have to ask Dominic Greene. Also tried their canned ginger ale mixer, don't it's packed with corn fructose.

MnChuck 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

This is the rum I use for my dark 'n stormys. It does a great job, but also one I can sip on the rocks if I don't feel like a cocktail. I always have a bottle of this on hand,

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Sugar: 11 gpl. My first review of this rum was from my Rum and Coke days. Having moved away from that stage when this rum was a "headache in a bottle" I recently tried this in a Bermuda Twizzle and everyone loved it. I was not going to buy this rum again as a sipper, but as a mixer it is very good in mixed drinks such as Hurricanes, Mai Tais, Swizzles, etc. At $25 a bottle in Canada it is a great deal.

nomad 🇺🇸 | 137 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

The obvious Dark n Stormy mixer, but nice with coke or ginger ale too. Smooth for an inexpensive rum. Plays well with sweeter mixes as well.

edited to add sugar test results- 11g

AndyD603 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

A very sweet dark. Usually drink this on the rocks with ice however it does fine with soda.

Ralphrum 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

I first tried this in Bermuda in a Dark N Stormy and I have used it exclusively for that drink. It has a distinct flavor that I have to enjoy in drinks including rum punch .

Triton Ogletree 🇺🇸 | 111 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Goslings is a good rum with a good flavor and a fair amount of spice. While it is perfect for the Dark and Stormy cocktail, it's mellowed spice is somewhat of a blessing and a curse. It is good as a stand alone and works well with plenty of cocktails but the spiciness hinders it from being as versatile as Myers (which is ridiculously underrated on this website.) It's actually more similar to Kracken but a better rum overall than that. It's definitely a solid rum that should be tried during your next trip to get some liquor as it is also very affordable.

Oggiedog 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Gosling’s is the go-to for dark rum. The infamous dark and stormy wouldn’t be the same without it! A great mixer, primary or stand alone rum. There are better rums out there, but for the price and the flexibility of this dark rum, it’s a must have.

Rip 🇨🇦 | 17 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

It’s an ok rum as a mixer, I’ll give it credit for that. Definitely had that dark rum molasses flavour profile. FDC 5year is a similar price and better as a mixer in my opinion.
Most of the higher rated rums on this app are for higher quality and often more expensive ‘sippers’. This rum is not a ‘sipper’, but will be just fine for many to mix with their preferred drink.

Weglin 🇵🇱 | 24 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Porządny karaibski rum do drinków. Ciężki czuc słodyc. Nie jest to rum do degustacji lecz smakuje porządnie. Dużo lepszy od podstawowych pozycji.




Brand Details

Name: Black Seal
Company: Gosling's
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading