Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Gosling's 151 rum

Gosling's 151

Bermuda | Dark

6.6/10
71 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
0
2
3
9
14
29
12
1
1

Rate Gosling's 151

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

71 Gosling's 151 Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Ted 🇬🇧 | 5 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

The magic of this rum it’s its strength and its diversity. This makes a cracking mojito or is nice just over ice.

Not overly sweet and even some bitter notes in places, that helps keep it fairly neutral.

This would make an amazing after supper tipple by the fire !!

Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 547 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Dunkles Mahagoni im Glas.
In der Nase sehr heftig, die 75.5% Vol. brennen einem schon fast in den Augen. Düfte von stark gebranntem Karamell, angekohltem Holz, dunkle Früchte und Spuren der dunklen Seite.
Im Gaumen sehr angenehm warm und mundfüllend. Viel Karamell, etwas Lakritze und ein hauch bitteres Holz.
Im Abgang trocknet die Zunge völlig aus, zurück bleibt etwas wie bitteres Karamell.
Zum pur geniessen zu wenig Körper in der Stärke, aber super in einen Dark 'n Stormy für Erwachsene.

Dark mahogany in the glass.
In the nose very violent, the 75.5% Vol. burn already almost in the eyes. Fragrances of strongly burnt caramel, charred wood, dark fruits and traces of the dark side.
In the palate very pleasantly warm and mouth filling. Lots of caramel, some liquorice and a hint of bitter wood.
In the finish the tongue dries out completely, something like bitter caramel remains.
For straight up too little body by this strength, but perfect in a Dark 'n Stormy for adults.

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 295 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Had occasion to sample Gosling’s 151 rum from the Bahamas. This 70% ABV rum is definitely not intended to be a sipper and is most often used in Dark & Stormy but since I drink all of my rums neat I thought I would give it a try.

Nose: Sweet and flavourful but anticipating harshness due to high ABV.
Palate: Strong stuff, anise flavours (which I don’t particularly like) along with sweetness is present and way too strong to enjoy neat.

I then mixed an equal amount of Gosling’s 151 with Newfoundland Screech (40% ABV) but did not enjoy the resulting blend (~ 55% ABV).

Glad I tried it but much prefer Plantation OFTD (69%)

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Overproof rum is the best way to kick up a tropical cocktail. Float this on a Chief Lapu Lapu and you’ll taste what this can bring to a mix. It’s not going to bring the spice of Lemon Heart but it’s extremely friendly and a bargain. Completely worthy of holding a spot in your cabinet.

Snookerman 🇬🇧 | 167 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This has a very sweet smell of molasses and treacle and both of those elements are found prominently in the taste - as is spice, caramel, burny suagr and fennel.

Overproofs tend to make truly awful sippers, but this is passable, albeit with one hell of an alcoholic kick!
In mixers, this is great.

Dan 🇬🇧 | 58 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

An overwhelming burning sensation that makes it hard to think about flavour.

Bryan 🇸🇬 | 2 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Its sole purpose is to be used in a dark n stormy.

Chris Williamson 🇨🇦 | 81 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This gosling’s has a strong orange and burnt molasses taste with it high alcoholic level making it hard to sip but mellows in a mix but still holds the molasses and orange flavours

Lonely Coast 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

As others have said, if you like regular Gosling's, this is a high octane version. Definitely a mixer. And even then only for certain drinks. A strong, but not sugary sweetness. Neat, there is an oily texture or feel to it. But what doesn't agree with me is the strong anise (black licorice) finish. Anise, fennel, these flavors of spices just don't get along with my pallet. One of the reasons I hate Italian sausage. And it's strong with this rum. But if you like those taste, or if you enjoy Jaeger shots, this might be a rum you'll enjoy. Glad I tried it, but won't purchase again.

Michael Huff 🇺🇸 | 100 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

This is meant for mixing, not straight drinking. Much like the Black Seal but with the fire of a higher proof you'd expect. Still, not as bad as bacardi151.




Brand Details

Type: Dark
Company: Gosling's
Country: Bermuda
Name: 151
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No
1. RumRatings
Loading...