Barcelo Imperial Onyx rum

Barcelo Imperial Onyx

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10
112 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
9
32
53
13
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial Onyx

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

112 Barcelo Imperial Onyx ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 2 years ago by tobiasz ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 16 ratings

A lot of coffee, toffi and sugar cane. Marzipan, vanilla and roasted fruits too. Good for ladies, because of the 38% ABV.

Posted almost 3 years ago by hyenik ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 110 ratings

another good sipper, not oversweet.
All these promo stories about onyx and silver make almost mystical atmosphere and black embossed bottle is very impresive. Good gift.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mark N ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 18 ratings

availabe in NL since last month. i like the regular imperial so was looking forward to try. put simply, it's well worth the additional money over the imperial. (36 eur vs 22 eur in NL). where the regular has it's flaws you take for granted due to price, the onyx has more to prove. the sweetness in the aftertaste remains but the taste overall is much more in balance. the additional time it spent on the heavily charred whiskey and bourbon barrels makes me think off flor de cana. which is also made of cane juice and matured on Jack Daniels barrels.

Posted 3 years ago by MikeVD ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 1 rating

This one started my interest in Rum. Really like the flavor, good on the rocks as well.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช | 399 ratings

Beautiful amber color going on the mohagany. This rum from Barcelo is a new version of the imperial with a filtration made through onyx stones (hence its name) and an aging in three types of barrel containing three types of different whisky or bourbon including Jack Daniel's. The aging in the three types of barrels seems to be the same but I have no more information and also the name of other bourbon. Otherwise, on the nose, we're on classic Barcelo, it's very pastry, caramel, coconut, almond, vanilla, toasted, cherry. In the mouth, the woody arrives with the spices the finish is present but not significant. It's not very long. A classic revisited.

Posted 2 months ago by Snookerman (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 163 ratings

This rum is particularly smooth. It seems to slide down the throat easily and yet that is not to imply that it is at all bland or tasteless or overly syruppy. It's just smooth. I've no idea why that is, but it is.
You can certainly taste the bourbon barrels in this rum, but nowhere near as much as, say, Mount Gay Black Barrel. There is a fair bit of wood and the nose is sweeter than the taste. The taste is fairly medium - being neither sweet not dry. Lots of fruit, vanilla, caramel in the taste, but the aftertaste is shorter lived than many aged rums - that may or may not be a good thing depending how you want that.
Above all, I enjoyed this a lot.

Posted 7 months ago by Polou ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท | 60 ratings

It is a blend of rums that have aged between 8 and 10 years in American oak barrels. These barrels, which previously contained Kentucky bourbon, were re-burned very heavily. It creates an activated charcoal that filters the rum in the barrel, but it also helps promote aromatic exchanges between the wood and the rum.

After aging, this rum has benefited from a new filtration through onyx stoneโ€ฆi really dont know why??!!

The nose: we can smell notes of vanilla, caramel and coconut.
The mouth, we can smell vanilla, caramel, coconut and spices very well.
It is a very sweet rum and very pleasant to drink. I highly recommend it !!

Posted 10 months ago by Vestty ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 42 ratings

It's like the original Imperial but with a leather belt to spank you with. It's nice and dry, you can taste the burnt barrel clearly. The taste might even be a bit overwhelming. Nonetheless a special experience and it's something like an 8.5 for me.

Posted 1 year ago by Juanlaginia ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 73 ratings

Moderated dark color rum, very smooth slightly sweet more of a sipping rum than a cocktail mixer.

Posted 2 years ago by Daniel ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 138 ratings

Nice perfect Ron for business meeting. Ey like dry Ron but good taste an perfect body. I like it. Yeah.

Posted almost 5 years ago by David D ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2 ratings

I just returned from a trip to La Rommona, and a tour of the Barcelo factory. And discovered his wonderful rum. The extra char in he barrels gives this rum whiskey flavor, with hints of vanilla. Great on the rocks, or with a splash of coke.




Brand Details

Name: Imperial Onyx
Company: Barcelo
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2886
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
558
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
540
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
513