Barcelo Imperial Onyx rum

Barcelo Imperial Onyx

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.6/10
114 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
9
33
54
13
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial Onyx

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

114 Barcelo Imperial Onyx ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Rocky 🇸🇰 | 75 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Barceló Imperial považujem za ukážkový suchý rum na bežný deň, pri ktorom človek nemusí siahať hlboko do peňaženky. Preto som bol zvedavý na jeho podstatne drahšieho súrodenca. Podobne tvarovaná fľaša, tentokrát z matného čierneho skla, pôsobí veľmi elegantne a svojsky. Ukrýva tmavší nápoj, ktorého vôňa okamžite upúta svojou hĺbkou, na pozadí okrem tradičných tónov cítim dokonca stopy ovocného džemu. Aj chuťovo je oveľa komplexnejší ako 38% brat, popri dubovom dreve dominuje karamel a koža. Príde mi o chlp sladší ako Imperial, pritom vyniká svojou jemnosťou. Chute krásne hrajú, dozvuky v dutinách trvajú podstatne dlhšie. Zatiaľ bez debaty najlepší zo suchších rumov, rozhodne sa k nemu budem pravidelne vracať. Tento rum nemôže uraziť asi nikoho, veľa muziky za rozumnú cenu, skvelá voľba!
32,99€

hyenik 🇨🇿 | 110 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

another good sipper, not oversweet.
All these promo stories about onyx and silver make almost mystical atmosphere and black embossed bottle is very impresive. Good gift.

Mark N 🇳🇱 | 18 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

availabe in NL since last month. i like the regular imperial so was looking forward to try. put simply, it's well worth the additional money over the imperial. (36 eur vs 22 eur in NL). where the regular has it's flaws you take for granted due to price, the onyx has more to prove. the sweetness in the aftertaste remains but the taste overall is much more in balance. the additional time it spent on the heavily charred whiskey and bourbon barrels makes me think off flor de cana. which is also made of cane juice and matured on Jack Daniels barrels.

MikeVD 🇳🇱 | 1 rating
Posted over 3 years ago

This one started my interest in Rum. Really like the flavor, good on the rocks as well.

Marc Cardinal 🇧🇪 | 399 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Beautiful amber color going on the mohagany. This rum from Barcelo is a new version of the imperial with a filtration made through onyx stones (hence its name) and an aging in three types of barrel containing three types of different whisky or bourbon including Jack Daniel's. The aging in the three types of barrels seems to be the same but I have no more information and also the name of other bourbon. Otherwise, on the nose, we're on classic Barcelo, it's very pastry, caramel, coconut, almond, vanilla, toasted, cherry. In the mouth, the woody arrives with the spices the finish is present but not significant. It's not very long. A classic revisited.

Snookerman (TASTING CLUB) 🇬🇧 | 165 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

This rum is particularly smooth. It seems to slide down the throat easily and yet that is not to imply that it is at all bland or tasteless or overly syruppy. It's just smooth. I've no idea why that is, but it is.
You can certainly taste the bourbon barrels in this rum, but nowhere near as much as, say, Mount Gay Black Barrel. There is a fair bit of wood and the nose is sweeter than the taste. The taste is fairly medium - being neither sweet not dry. Lots of fruit, vanilla, caramel in the taste, but the aftertaste is shorter lived than many aged rums - that may or may not be a good thing depending how you want that.
Above all, I enjoyed this a lot.

Polou 🇫🇷 | 60 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

It is a blend of rums that have aged between 8 and 10 years in American oak barrels. These barrels, which previously contained Kentucky bourbon, were re-burned very heavily. It creates an activated charcoal that filters the rum in the barrel, but it also helps promote aromatic exchanges between the wood and the rum.

After aging, this rum has benefited from a new filtration through onyx stone…i really dont know why??!!

The nose: we can smell notes of vanilla, caramel and coconut.
The mouth, we can smell vanilla, caramel, coconut and spices very well.
It is a very sweet rum and very pleasant to drink. I highly recommend it !!

Vestty 🇨🇿 | 42 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

It's like the original Imperial but with a leather belt to spank you with. It's nice and dry, you can taste the burnt barrel clearly. The taste might even be a bit overwhelming. Nonetheless a special experience and it's something like an 8.5 for me.

Juanlaginia 🇺🇸 | 76 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Moderated dark color rum, very smooth slightly sweet more of a sipping rum than a cocktail mixer.

Daniel 🇨🇿 | 138 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Nice perfect Ron for business meeting. Ey like dry Ron but good taste an perfect body. I like it. Yeah.

David D 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

I just returned from a trip to La Rommona, and a tour of the Barcelo factory. And discovered his wonderful rum. The extra char in he barrels gives this rum whiskey flavor, with hints of vanilla. Great on the rocks, or with a splash of coke.