Brinley Gold Shipwreck Coconut rum

Brinley Gold Shipwreck Coconut

Saint Kitts and Nevis | Flavored

6.6/10
13 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
2
3
3

Rate Brinley Gold Shipwreck Coconut

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

13 Brinley Gold Shipwreck Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 81 ratings

Not much in the way of tasting notes, since this is a coconut rum that's pretty darn good at its job. This rum is essentially coconut syrup that comes in at 36% ABV. Surely the Added-Sugar-Police would love to hate this rum, and probably all the other BGS's out there, but take this for what it is: delicious! No, it's obviously not a "rum" by anyone's purist standards, what with the copious sugar and flavoring (which does taste like it was steeped with genuine coconut!), but if you pick up a coconut rum and then hate on it for not being a rich, dark, aged rum... well you kinda had that coming! If that's what you're looking for, look elsewhere. But if you want an instant vacation to tropical decadence, this is the place to go!

Posted 2 months ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 513 ratings

This has a nice coconut flavor to it, but I find the coconut and sugar a bit strong for my liking.

Might make an interesting mixer, but I rate rums based on their taste straight.

If you like coconut rums, try the Captain Morgan 90 proof, or the Koloa Coconut; my personal favorites.

Posted 2 years ago by ZTrain1177 ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 70 ratings

A nice tasting rum. It's not overly sweet and can be drank on it's own. Definitely worth it.

Posted 7 days ago by nightsctosman ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2 ratings

By far the best coconut rum I've tasted. Rich, luscious, natural coconut flavor that compliments the quality aged rum base. Yes, it's still too sweet, but at least is has a higher proof than most flavored rums. I like it on the rocks as a dessert sipper, maybe with a few drops of lime or a tiny splash of pineapple juice. A bartender friend of mine came up with an amazing cocktail with it: shake with ice equal parts Brinley Gold Coconut, fresh pineapple juice, and green Chartreuse. Seems like the Chartreuse would dominate too much, but it's perfectly balanced and delicious.

Posted 1 year ago by Hornet1968 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 22 ratings

A little too sweet but great for making cranberry coconut fizz!

Posted over 1 year ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 320 ratings

Rich and flavorful. You can taste the fresh coconut flakes on your pallet. Definitely one of the best coconut rums I have ever tasted. Nice bite. Beautiful finish which was unexpected. Nice sipper. It will make a GREAT mixer.

Posted over 1 year ago by Anthony C ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 178 ratings

As with most Shipwreck rums, very sweet and thick. Not bad, just unique. It is nothing like most coconut whites.

Posted almost 3 years ago by kevin_kaye ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 14 ratings

While I still prefer Bacardi Coconut for mixed drinks, I was surprised at the very pure coconut flavor in the Shipwreck Coconut. Very clean but it could use just a little more rum flavor.

Posted over 3 years ago by CSG ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 39 ratings

This is my first high ester rum and itโ€™s not like anything Iโ€™ve tried before. The funk is very strong, and it also exhibits subtle characteristics of traditional molasses rum, some oak, and some dryer sugar cane style. It was like a party in my mouth with popping complexity, but it went down heavily. Definitely only a sipper, just difficult to have a lot in one sitting, and doesnโ€™t pair well with anything besides itself.

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2886 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Brinley Gold Shipwreck Coconut Rum bottle and label design looks very cheap and low end. Mild alcohol and plenty of coconut coming through to the nose and palate. Mild burn at the end due to such a large amount of added sweetness.

Posted over 3 years ago by ChazMo ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2 ratings

Agree with other reviews here; very good at its intended purpose. Got it by default for mixed drinks-- what my local liquor store had vs Malibu, etc.; been a staple since. It is quite sweet but the coconut flavor seems genuine and it goes very well in my many mixed drink concoctions-- its main purpose, in my view. Do not deign myself worthy to rate it straight/for sipping, which is even more subjective, due to its sweetness.




Brand Details

Name: Shipwreck Coconut
Company: Brinley Gold
Type: Flavored
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2886
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
542
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
513