Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Foursquare Spiced rum

Foursquare Spiced

Barbados | Spiced | 37.5% ABV

6.6/10
100 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
7
27
31
18
7
2

Rate Foursquare Spiced

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

100 Foursquare Spiced Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

rtbiscuit ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 16 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Possibly swayed more by the bottle than the heritage and history. But a really enjoyable rum, not as complex as I was expecting, but nice flavours done well. Not silly sweet either.

Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 473 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Since this spiced rum with no added sugar is not rated so highly here, I never went out of my way to find it until I stumbled across it a few days ago in Las Vegas. It was only $14, and I will stock up on it the next time I see it!!!

This is a very smooth rum at 70 proof with flavors of cinnamon, vanilla, nutmeg, and a few of their proprietary seasonings. Because it has no added sugar, there are no ill after effects the next day. It is now my second favorite spiced rum behind Blackwell's Reserve. It was also the best of the three rums from Foursquare that I tried on this trip. Doorly's XO was not too far behind, but Doorly's 12 Year was a major disappointment.

Andy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 147 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

I read many of the descriptions of Foursquare Spiced and decided to try it with some coke. As usual I order them separately to taste the rum straight prior to mixing. For the first time in my life I simply sipped on a spiced rum straight... It's that good! It's hard to believe, but then even better in Coke, likely the best rum I've mixed with Coke ever!

Lots of Carmel and vanilla in the nose, but not overwhelming and slightly mild. The taste is mild as well and sweet, no overpowering notes - similar in fact to Zaya. The finish is medium and seems to get better over time.

While it might lack some complexity of aged rums, this Foursquare Spiced is unbelievable for a spiced and likely minimal aged rum. Great value, strong buy recommendation.

Don Tucker ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 193 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

This is our favorite spiced rum. We visited the distillery in Barbados on our last trip there and could not get enough of this. Good thing the Total Wine in Cherry Hill, NJ carries this.

Mugoogio ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 29 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

The clove or allspice dominates for me. Definitely some cinnamon, maybe nutmeg? There is a lot going on. More on the nose than when tasting neat. But itโ€™s more of a mixer anyway and went really well with ginger ale.

Tartmaster ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 13 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

As far as I'm concerned, near perfect for rum and coke. Vanilla and nutmeg scent and taste, not a ton of burn and great flavor.

mistercoughy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 239 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

I don't drink a lot of spiced rum. The main reason I bought this was because R.L Seale's name was on the label, and his rums are almost always excellent. It's pretty tame straight up, fairly understated. Easy to drink, not at all offensive, but lacking something. Maybe more spice?

Dave2522 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 28 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I've tried a couple of other spiced rums (Captain Morgan Private Stock and Jonah's Curse) while looking for something to have in my cabinet as a change of pace. This is the best of the three. I've tried it neat, on the rocks and mixed. It requires at least an ice cube or three. It mixes well with Coke. It's not overly sweet and the spice flavors are fairly subtle, nothing overpowering. It has no added sugar, which makes it unique in this category. At 75 proof it goes down very easily. I pick up cinnamon, nutmeg, clove/allspice, a bit of vanilla and something else that defies description. It doesn't give me the impression of having a great deal of added flavoring, it's rather subtle notes integrated into a base of acceptable dark rum. It doesn't taste like a sugared liqueur, unlike some of its cousins. However, all that said, this will be the last bottle of spiced rum I'll ever purchase--I get much more enjoyment from the real thing. If I need to jazz up my much-better Doorly's for some reason, for cooking purposes I've already got fresh Madagascar vanilla beans, cloves, Ceylon cinnamon and other spices that should (in extreme moderation) give me much-superior results to pre-spiced rum...I'm done with these products forever, live and learn.

Rumrun11 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 125 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I tried this spiced rum after being pretty loyal to
bumbu and even Captain Morgan private stock and for me it is absolutely better than either of those for a lot less money. I guess it depends what you're looking for in a spiced rum. From what I understand there isn't any added sugar so there isn't that real sweetness that follows the initial taste. This spiced rum actually relies on what it supposed to be which is SPICED RUM. I am a bit surprised at the mediocre ratings of this spiced rum. Perhaps most people were expecting what I was as the vast majority of spiced rums have added sugar and can have that slight syrupy taste but it did not take too long to get used to. And by the way it is really smooth This really is spiced rum and for a lot less than the sugary concoctions from captain Morgan private stock etc... those others may be fine for mixing but there is no way I will waste this as a mixer even if it only cost $12 +tax per bottle in my area. Please give it a fair shof a taste the rum and the spice and not the added sugar!

Cowboy Neal ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 31 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Generally not a fan of spiced Rums, but this one isn't bad. Not too strongly spiced like most

Raphael ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 19 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

I've always liked the idea of spiced rum: those two words promise rum+warm spices. But in practice (especially in the case of the mainstream ones), it tends to mean bad (and/or neutral) rum, masked with lots of sugar and vanilla. Even high-quality spiced rums tend to be vanilla-forward and/or overspiced. By comparison, this one is on another planet. Given what is generally called spiced rum, this one is almost in a different category. It is a spiced rum that truly lives up to those two words: rum+warm spices. It has some warm spices, like cinammon, allspice, nutmeg, etc. I also taste some mint. But the spices aren't excessive, and you can still taste the base rum.




Brand Details

Type: Spiced
Company: Foursquare
Country: Barbados
ABV: 37.5%
Name: Spiced
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

Articles

1. Luxurious Drinks
2. Total Wine
Loading...