Westerhall Estate No 10 rum

Westerhall Estate No 10

Grenada | Aged

6.9/10
12 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
6
3

Rate Westerhall Estate No 10

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

12 Westerhall Estate No 10 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 120 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Nice looking new bottle, really balanced combination of brown sugar and molasses that has an appealing combination of sweet and spice. Really seems like I could sip on this all night long. Slightly oily finish with some sour notes that moves the rum from 9 to 8/10 - but still a strong offering.

Graham Davie ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 64 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

I feel a little bit disappointed with this rum. Good solid bottle, proper rum colour, but,
Admittedly my โ€œ noseโ€ is not the best, but Iโ€™m struggling to find any discernible aromas with this.
Likewise the taste is quite bland, thereโ€™s nothing really stands out, itโ€™s personally quite bland, even boring.
After 20 minutes sat in the glencairn, still nothing.
Pleasant burn, short lived, but Iโ€™m pretty sure this bottle will be a one off.
For me a disappointment.
Graham.

DougalVI ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 6 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

This one plays by the rules, itโ€™ll bang you in the mouth but doesnโ€™t tear your throat out or kick you in the guts. Like the postman itโ€™s sweet, round, heavy. A decent rum, not flash but worth a punt. My life is richer for having the No.10 in it.

Charles M ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 140 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I take all my rums straight up.

Nose is a little reserved, with a hint of spirit rather than fruit but there is subtle oak. On the body there is a soft, sweetness to the rum, presumably from the addition of sugar. It's well judged, easy to drink. Nice touch of oak on the finish. Reliable for GBP30 and better than the more high profile style over substance rums.

Bottled at 40% and there is a hint of a bit of a burn, but very gentle. Would prefer a wee bit stronger, say 43%, but not higher, as not sure it would benefit from it.

Aldx ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 3 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Enjoyed neat. Smooth taste you can slowly sip away at.

Quintin ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 76 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

It has a lovely golden amber colour with rich caramel on the nose. Sipped straight it is not overly sweet and has strong caramel, nutmeg and a hint of banana, but it soon fades into a smooth blend as soon as the ice starts to melt.

Taster ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ | 124 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Nose: pleasant caramel and oak, with some hints of banana and vanilla maybe, but not very intense: you can smell it well in a sniffer, but not very well in a tumbler.
Palate: rather thin, a bit spicy and some sharpness, but no ugly afterburn. Not very voluminous, not very aromatic, rather flat. Some hints of smoke.
6.9 - 7

Snookerman (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 165 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

The nose has a distinct sweetness to it with an almost flower-like background. The first taste is smooth and even, with lots of sugar and caramel on the tongue. The aftertaste is a bit oily and alcoholic but the rumminess fades a fair bit. The spirit does not seem to have a lot of depth. It's pleasant, reasonably tasty on first sip, but I don't think there's a lot going on. I'd drink it in a bar, but I would not buy a bottle. I was a bit disappointed, really.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 327 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

October 2020
Westerhall Estates started in rum business in the middle of the 19th century just selling on bulk. Over 100 years later, 1973, they created their first branded rum and at first 1989 export started. But quite shortly after, 1996, they stopped distilling and started buy rum first from Trinidad and nowadays from Barbados which they use for blending and bottling their products. So itโ€™s Bajan rum blended and bottled in Grenada.
Nowadays the distillery lies in ruins after the hurricane Ivan 2004.
โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”
A smooth rum in a nice bottle lots of caramel in nose and mouth with a quite long afterburn.
Picture: My Grenada shelf.

Reeb Barbill ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ฒ | 53 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Another nice rum. One of the best things about rum is that for ยฃ35-40 youโ€™re pretty well guaranteed some really good spirit. And if you go fifteen smackers over that youโ€™ll get some real life changing talking directly to God transcendental quality.

This is ยฃ35.

Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 573 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

The body of this rum has no flavour, no burnt barrel or oak barrels or anything. For someone who likes rum with little added this is perfect, for my taste buds this just doesn't do it for me