Flor de Caña Gran Reserva 7-Year rum

Flor de Caña Gran Reserva 7-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 7-year old super premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Mojito or with sparkling water or ginger ale.

6.5/10
318 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
10
29
91
117
51
10
4

Rate Flor de Caña Gran Reserva 7-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

318 Flor de Caña Gran Reserva 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rick 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings

Really nice nose on this rum. Flavors follow, but are more subtitle and perhaps a bit overwhelmed by the alcohol & astringency. The body is where this really missed for me as a sipper - very thin. Flavors reminded me of the Paul Masson VS Brandy I've been drinking, which, at 1/2 the price, is a better sipper. I thought the FDC 4 year anejo oro was both a better sipper and mixer, and around $5-$7 less per bottle, and I'd buy that again before purchasing this. Still, this is a decent rum that I wouldn't have any trouble drinking again.

Posted almost 8 years ago by Scott T 🇺🇸 | 122 ratings

Does not seem to be sweetened like so many "aged" rums, so might not appeal to fans of Zacapa and the like. Subtle flavors of smoke, tobacco, leather, dark fruits. It can often be found for under $20 at which price it is a good bargain.

Posted 6 years ago by David 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings

This is my go to rum. No tricks or gimmicks here. Inexpensive. Good to drink straight up. I prefer with a little ice and lime. Rum to ya!

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 224 ratings

While not as complex as the 12 & 18 yr, FdC 7 yr is smooth enough to drink neat. This dry rum may not suit those who prefer artificially sugared rums but for me the notes of caramel, vanilla and oak blend well enough to make this a decent sipping rum.

Posted 6 years ago by Michelle 🇧🇪 | 3 ratings

The first rum I tasted on it's own, and still one of my favourites. Good enough to drink straight, but you wouldn't feel bad about putting in some ice, a slice of lemon or, why not, a dash of coca cola (but only a dash). Flor de Caña always keeps its distinct molasses-taste, also in this younger brother of the family.

Posted 9 years ago by Don Tucker 🇺🇸 | 193 ratings

I first found the 7 year several years ago when I was returning from Aruba. I've since limited myself to the 18 year and mixed with the Extra Dry 4 year. I just found a bottle of this in Kentucky and I realized how much I liked it as an every day sipper. Good middle of the road sipper.

Posted 4 years ago by Halsey 🇺🇸 | 29 ratings

Light to medium color. Delicate honey nose, very pleasant. This is a really nice, fairly light bodies sipper. A friend gave this to me, and having had the 12 (not wildly impressed) I expected little. Needless to say I'm surprised at how pleasant it is. A nice caramel touch up front, with a short fruit finish. I actually wouldn't recommend this for mixing as its charms would be buried. Not a world calss sipper, but for the money, you can't miss.

Posted almost 8 years ago by Felipe P 🇺🇸 | 70 ratings

This is my standard rum of choice. Oddly enough, I found it mixed best with sweet tea.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tom 🇺🇸 | 228 ratings

Aged for 7 years, Flor de Cana Gran Reserve offers the option of drinking it neat or mixing it in a cocktail or with coke. With a price tag of about $20, you don't have to pay an arm and a leg for a satisfactory rum either.
Think about trying the other fine rums in the Flor de Cana family as well! You can't go wrong...CHEERS!

Posted 3 days ago by Dwight 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings

I never drink a spirit neat, always in a cocktail. But I'm here to say this rum makes an exquisite Daiquiri. So why nine bottles and not ten? I never tried one made with $80 rum, so I'll leave room for those who will.

Posted 9 months ago by Victor Hogo 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings

Esters (especially ethyl acetate) and alcohol dominate the aroma, with honey notes. More complex on tasting, with sweetness and aldehydes (especially vanillin) joining in. Moderate burn, especially in back of mouth, going with alcoholic warming.




Brand Details

Name: Gran Reserva 7-Year
Company: Flor de Caña
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 7
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2886
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
545
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
513