Flor de Caña Gran Reserva 7-Year rum

Flor de Caña Gran Reserva 7-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 7-year old super premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Mojito or with sparkling water or ginger ale.

6.5/10
332 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
5
11
31
95
121
52
10
4

Rate Flor de Caña Gran Reserva 7-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

332 Flor de Caña Gran Reserva 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 126 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I've never had the sensation of a spicy pop before like I had with this Flor de Cana. It's interesting, but the fun wears off quickly and it simply turns too spicy with little remaining flavoring. Short finish with an earthy pine type taste.

Scott T 🇺🇸 | 122 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Does not seem to be sweetened like so many "aged" rums, so might not appeal to fans of Zacapa and the like. Subtle flavors of smoke, tobacco, leather, dark fruits. It can often be found for under $20 at which price it is a good bargain.

David 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is my go to rum. No tricks or gimmicks here. Inexpensive. Good to drink straight up. I prefer with a little ice and lime. Rum to ya!

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 256 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

While not as complex as the 12 & 18 yr, FdC 7 yr is smooth enough to drink neat. This dry rum may not suit those who prefer artificially sugared rums but for me the notes of caramel, vanilla and oak blend well enough to make this a decent sipping rum.

Michelle 🇧🇪 | 3 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

The first rum I tasted on it's own, and still one of my favourites. Good enough to drink straight, but you wouldn't feel bad about putting in some ice, a slice of lemon or, why not, a dash of coca cola (but only a dash). Flor de Caña always keeps its distinct molasses-taste, also in this younger brother of the family.

Don Tucker 🇺🇸 | 193 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

I first found the 7 year several years ago when I was returning from Aruba. I've since limited myself to the 18 year and mixed with the Extra Dry 4 year. I just found a bottle of this in Kentucky and I realized how much I liked it as an every day sipper. Good middle of the road sipper.

Halsey 🇺🇸 | 32 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Light to medium color. Delicate honey nose, very pleasant. This is a really nice, fairly light bodies sipper. A friend gave this to me, and having had the 12 (not wildly impressed) I expected little. Needless to say I'm surprised at how pleasant it is. A nice caramel touch up front, with a short fruit finish. I actually wouldn't recommend this for mixing as its charms would be buried. Not a world calss sipper, but for the money, you can't miss.

Tom 🇺🇸 | 230 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Aged for 7 years, Flor de Cana Gran Reserve offers the option of drinking it neat or mixing it in a cocktail or with coke. With a price tag of about $20, you don't have to pay an arm and a leg for a satisfactory rum either.
Think about trying the other fine rums in the Flor de Cana family as well! You can't go wrong...CHEERS!

Felipe P 🇺🇸 | 70 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This is my standard rum of choice. Oddly enough, I found it mixed best with sweet tea.

Rumlando 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

To me this is one of those rums that's more like whiskey, and I'm not a whiskey fan. The alcohol taste is overpowering, so I don't taste much in the way of other flavors. It has a strong burn. It's not undrinkable, but if I'm going to enjoy a rum neat there are a hundred I'd choose over this. I'm not big on rum cocktails, so maybe that's a better use of this rum. I was pretty disappointed at nearly $20/bottle, as there are many tastier and more drinkable options. I can see others enjoying it, but this style of rum is just not my thing.

Dwight 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

I never drink a spirit neat, always in a cocktail. But I'm here to say this rum makes an exquisite Daiquiri. So why nine bottles and not ten? I never tried one made with $80 rum, so I'll leave room for those who will.