Flor de Caña Gran Reserva 7-Year rum

Flor de Caña Gran Reserva 7-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 7-year old super premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Mojito or with sparkling water or ginger ale.

6.5/10
321 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
10
29
93
118
51
10
4

Rate Flor de Caña Gran Reserva 7-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

321 Flor de Caña Gran Reserva 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

N Bishop 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This was my go-to for budget mixing rum for many years. Smooth flavor that goes great in coke or other mixers, and just couple dollars more than captain. I still get a bottle every once in a while, amazing rum for the price! It's acceptable on the rocks, but I feel it really shines as a mixer.

geroji 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Faint vanilla and orange-peel notes, but it’s pretty muted, maybe by the young ages of the blend. It does do very well mixed with soda.

Hefron 🇨🇿 | 117 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Čistý agricole rum, žádný přidaný cukr či karamel. Je ostřejší a štiplavý, vůně dubového dřeva a karamelu. V chuti dub, tabákové listy a vanilka. Po polknutí dlouho hřeje jak na patře, tak i v hrdle. Za tu cenu bych ho nelitoval použít ani do míchaných nápojů.

Chet 🇺🇸 | 192 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I like this rum, not real smooth but nice robust flavor and makes a good Rum and Coke. Decent drinking compared to the 18 year which i was a bit disjointed with.

Bob 🇺🇸 | 74 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Natural tasting rum with a grassy Agricole-like base flavor and some mild aged flavors like vanilla and oak over the top. I do mean mild when I say mild. This has a little more bite than the 12 yr and maybe a little more flavor as well but it's still a light simple tasting rum without much sweetness or any particular flavor popping out at you. I can say that it tastes like rum and not a bourbon or sweet wine finish. Ok to sip and excellent mixer.Update: i had some again recently and the flavor is kind of blah to me at thia point, i taste predominantly charcoal and a bit of sweetness. Im now calling this the vodka of rums cuz thats what it tastes like.

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Having first familiarized myself with Havana Club 7, I assumed FdC 7 would be similar (direct competitors, even). Tasting this one, and then both side by side, I was surprised to find that they are remarkably different! While the HC is rich, oaky, and smokey, this FdC is rather lighter-bodied... off-sweet, with notes of vanilla and caramel. To me, the Flor de Caña is like a dryer version of the candy-like Plantation Barbados 5! (Which can only be a good thing.) However, it also has some off-putting high-notes at first pour.

So, although I'm a little disappointed not to have found a HC doppelgänger state-side, and am no longer sure quite what flavor profile to look for when a classic recipe calls for Spanish-style/Puerto Rican rum, I'm satisfied with my purchase and enjoying mixing with it very much.

Kudos for FdC for not adulterating their rums with gobs of sugar! I may decide to use this as my go-to Gold/Spanish-style column-distilled aged rum, with Mt. Gay Eclipse (which is blended) as a budget back-up.

Lawson 🇺🇸 | 71 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Very appealing 's a sipper. Mixes very well and is a good rum to have in the cabinet. It's quality belies the price point it is at.

Emmanuel 🇸🇪 | 11 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

On the rocks this is a winner, without ice its a bit rough.
Very good as a drink mixer!

jsanca 🇺🇸 | 57 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I hate this rum because anytime I open a bottle it just gone! Magic.

This my favorite rum and my friends have the same oppinion, it is good sipping and just exploited with mixing; cubata, floridita, punch, maitai all of them are special with this single state rum

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Starts off with some nice caramel overtones, but the alcohol aftertaste is pretty unpleasant. Not enough going on here to make it a compelling sipper, yet it mixes well enough. And it's cheap. I won't ever need to buy a second bottle, because there are much better rums in this middle-shelf category.

nomad 🇺🇸 | 137 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Very similar to the 12yo, but with a comparatively needed lack of smoothness. A steal of a price too.

edited to add sugar test results- 0g